We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel. We parked our car and walked everywhere. I was also able to get in 5 mile runs around the city. The manager, Chris who was there when we checked in was great. He told us some great sites to see and recommended a few restaurants. The ones we went to were great. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a washer Dryer in the kitchen. They had a welcome basket with great snacks and breakfast food, there was also bread, milk and juice in our room. Nothing fancy, but great when you are with kids. The furniture was a little dorm like, but comfortable. For the money and location I highly recommend The Knights Residence. My only complaint is they have many different Wifi channels and they change so you have to log on a lot. I think there are 8.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Knight Residence is an ideal place for those who like to be on their own and undisturbed whilst traveling.
We stayed in this hotel for four nights right in the end of August - beginning of September.
Location
The hotel is within the walking distance from Edinborough castle and other major places of interest. If you do not like walking, then Edinburough buses will help. Two stop right outside the hotel. The location is pretty quiet although there are two strip bars next door. We'll, it can be regarded as an advantage. In terms of noise - we were not disturbed during our stay. Only on Friday night strip bar public got noisy but we were so tired that barely noticed it whilst falling asleep. There is a grocery store across the street where we conveniently bought all our provisions
Rooms
We had a comfort room and the room was fitted like a modern apartment, so everything we needed was there. All equipment is kept clean and in order, the rooms are clean.
Service
The staff is very polite and helpful. All our requests were answered.
To draw a line under this review: excellent location, reasonable price, good rooms, good service, and nice and polite staff. We will stay here again when we travel to Edinborough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Knights Residence is not only walking distance to everything, it is a well priced quality stay.

We stayed in the lower floor, 1 bedroom apartment that offered not only a well equipped kitchen, but also a lounge/dining, separate bathroom and bedroom with a little office area.

We were greeted warmly, given very thorough directions on how to access the building (after hours), how to get to the secure parking section and also the closest places to buy groceries if we wished to cook our meal in the kitchen. (Which we did)

The receptionist also carried some of our luggage and gave us a very detailed walk through of our apartment, which was appreciated, and showed us how to use some of the appliances. She was lovely, caring and very attentive to our needs and is an asset to the hotel.

Bedroom - Large comfortable bed, clean and fresh linen. Soft goose/duck down pillows. Large cupboard space with plenty of hanging and shelving. The bedroom also boasts a TV and a small office section.

Bathroom - Huge shower and bath, fantastic shower head but the hot water takes a bit of time coming in, so you are aware of all the water wastage while waiting. Nice toilet and toilet paper. Plenty of eco bath essentials and lovely soft, towels and hand towels.

Kitchen - Fully equipped with fridge, stove, dish washer, washing machine, sink, the works. No need to eat out. Continental breakfast provided as well (Bread, cereals, jams/honey, tea/coffee and milk/butter)

Lounge/Dining - nice, comfortable lounge facing a very large TV. Coffee table and dining table.

On the whole the apartment is of the highest quality. Lovely, modern furniture, comfortable seating and lounge and green aware.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wished that we could have stayed longer than 1 night. (Maybe next time)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom comfort apartment in September. The apartment had everything we needed for our 6 night stay. The two bedrooms - one queen and one king (or two twins) - each had a TV, clock, hairdryer and robes. The lounge had two sofas and additional seating along with a TV and CD/DVD players. CD's were in the apartment. DVD's and books were located by reception. The kitchen had absolutely everything you needed to cook a meal or just a snack. It came with a welcome basket including crackers, biscuits, bread, jellies, butter, various cereals, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices, milk and more!

The apartment is located in Old Town near the Grassmarket, which has several restaurants, and near all the Old Town sites. The building is a more modern building, so not an older, historic building. The building is also a little off the beaten path in a somewhat "tired" neighborhood. (There were a few "show" bars nearby.) The building was quite secure, and there was no noise.

The entire staff, especially Kevin, was superb. They were helpful and informative. They gave us several suggestions about where to eat, the sites, and various tours. They took care of several bookings for us.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for extended stays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somuchtoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Knight Residency was very well located and appointed and we had a comfortable two night stay.

Magdalena was very professional and swiftly showed us to our apartment and gave us helpful pointers for the surrounding area.

In the future we would even contemplate staying in serviced apartments opposed to hotels after our experience of the fully serviced apartment here. It was a nice touch to have our names added to the apartment plate at the entrance and on the door.

The kitchen was very well equipped with all the essential appliances including a dishwasher. Even takeaway menu's!

There lounge, bathroom and bedroom were very comfortable. There was a DVD player in the lounge too with a wide selection to hire from - we were out all the time!

All very immaculate.

Very good WIFI connection with an internet terminal provided on each floor I guess.

We have no hesitation in recommending The Knight Residence. Thank you.

Room Tip: We were happy with ours - I am sure they would all be equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LONDONMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had planned our trip to Scotland and Edinburgh for almost a year. Our friend had made reservations far in advance at the Knights Residence as they had stayed here before and recommended it. When we arrived, we were told another couple were staying on an extra night and K.R. would put us up elsewhere but we could return the next evening! Right. Having traveled extensively around the world, this was the first time that this has ever happened anywhere. Granted, the Tattoo and Fringe festival were occurring but we have never been turned away nor does one expect to at a "luxury accommodations". The K.R. would put us up in another "luxury suites" at the bottom of the Royal Mile, the Holyrood aptHotel. What could we do? The other hotel was not what we expected, not at all "luxury", tired, with worn, dirty carpets, mold on bread. However, we made the best of it as we were in Edinburgh and didn't want this unfortunate and avoidable mistake to ruin our trip. Beware that this may happen. Won't attempt to stay here any time in future. Not worth the risk.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank winelvr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

The Knight Residence has no overbooking policy - i.e. we do not deliberately overbook. Very occasionally and for a variety of reasons we find ourselves having to relocate guests. In these circumstances we aim to find the closest match to the accommodation they have booked with us. In this instance we reserved you a two bedroom apartment at the Holyrood Aparthotel, a four star rated property which enjoys a fine reputation on Tripadvisor. We did this in good faith and negotiated a rate significantly below the rate agreed for your accommodation with us. I am truly sorry the alternative accommodation fell short of your expectations - given the time of year we are quite limited in options for relocations if they prove necessary.

I do understand why you feel aggrieved that this happened to you and I'm sorry we were not able to find accommodation of an equal standard to The Knight Residence for you. I will review our internal procedures to see what we might be able to do to improve satisfaction for any guests in the future that we may require to relocate.

Thank you for your feedback,
Colin Stone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Short but honest review..

2 minutes from the GrassMarket area of restauarants and bars and 10 minutes walk up hill to the castle and whiskey museum

Also 5 seconds walk to three lap dancing / show girls bars which may be a problem for the particularly pompous or fussy but had no bearing at all on our experience.

Rooms were immaculate but quite dated, however the free selection of breakfast items etc were most appreciated and the service and porterage is 5*.

Only reason for 4 and not 5* is the lack of air conditioning, which does make it very hot when the weather is good, as its quite noisy to keep windows open.

Dont let this put you off, great place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rossub40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,715 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $121 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing