We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Serviced Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Knights Residence. Last time was approx. 7 years ago and it is very pleasing to see that the standard of service and apartments is still high.
The kitchen is stocked with cereals, milk, bread, juice etc and the staff are friendly and very helpful. They have a good range of DVDs that you can rent for as little as £2.00.
Knight's residence is well situated for the Grassmarket and other parts of Edinburgh, pubs, cafes etc, well within walking distance . There is also a small Sainsbury's around the corner as well. Just after Sainsbury's there is a right hand turn into a road where there is a small Turkish café called "Truva" which does an excellent full cooked breakfast and free wifi. Friendly as well.

Yes there are a couple of Strip Joints nearby, but that was not an issue and we felt very safe. So don't let that put you off.

One criticism is the licensing laws. Edinburgh is not child friendly. If you are under 18 you can only go in a pub with adults (obviously) but you have to have a meal. Most pubs have a separate room for this which we appreciate as not everyone wants kids running around, but you cannot just go in for a drink you have to buy a meal if you have kids. Then after 20.00 hrs no children are allowed anywhere at all.
Our son is 13 yrs of age and has travelled from the age of 1 all around the world with us. France/ Spain to name a few have a great family life when going to bars etc. We have never experienced being made so unwelcome in bars or restaurants. But in Edinburgh we did. We went for an evening meal in a restaurant with our son, the bill was around £90.00 and when we asked for another coffee and drink at the end of the meal, were told we had to leave because it was after 8.00 and our son could not stay. The restaurant is called Monboddo, Point Hotel. Although after some argument they gave us a discount (because they should have told us of the policy), we felt the night was ruined and embarrassing.
Edinburgh is clearly adults only!!!! Kids stay out of sight and mind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucylu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

The rooms are really suites - bath, kitchen, living room and bedroom. The kitchen comes stocked with milk, juice, bread, cereal and more. The staff is very helpful. The location cannot be beat - you can walk to the major sites, pubs and restaurants. (Be aware that Edinburgh is a hilly city.) We felt safe in the neighborhood. I would recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was the first time we'd stayed in a serviced apartment, and boy was it impressive! We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment for two nights in May 2013.

We arrived at Edinburgh Waverly railway station. It's best to take a taxi from the station, because Edinburgh is really hilly! It's only about £5.

When we arrived, Chris the duty manager was great. He showed us how to use the keys, and gave us a tour of the apartment. He was also full of local information, and was super helpful in pointing out good places to eat and the nearest supermarket. They also provide a welcome basket of food (bread, cereal, milk, butter, etc.) that was very welcome. There's even washing powder for the washing machine!

The room is extremely comfortable and quite large. We had one bedroom with a king-sized bed, a shared loo, and the extra bed is a sofa-bed that was actually quite comfortable.

It's only about a 10-minute walk to Grassmarket, where there are lots of restaurants and pubs. Edinburgh Castle is also very near, though the fastest way includes walking up a lot of steps.

If we visit Edinburgh again, we're definitely staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravensilvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My family & I stayed at these apartments in December for a little break to Edinburgh to do some Christmas shopping & catch up with friends!! We booked a two bedroom apartment & were delighted with the space. We have two young children so we were able to let them run about a bit & having the separate bedroom was fantastic - it allowed us space to put them down separately & it felt very secure. The parking is also fab!! Very secure & cheap!! The welcome pack is a nice touch & contains most of the essentials you need to get settled.We only brought one buggy & although it's only a short walk to Princes Street, we were extremely grateful when staff offered the use of a second one for our eldest (4yrs) & they didn't charge for this either. The staff are definitely a huge asset to this place.

No downsides whatsoever!! You won't be disappointed with your stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Knight Residence exceeded my family's expectations in every way. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, with special mention of Christopher who gave us directions and a walk through the apartment facilities. The apartment was a comfortable two-bedroom with a great layout, nice kitchen (very clean with a full service of dishes and flatware plus a washer dryer), and a very modern bathroom. We didn't want to leave to go on to our next destination! We have been to 5-star hotels but never felt more at home. Especially recommended for anyone traveling with children or friends.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms look out on the rear of the building so they're really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TouchPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great place to stay right in the heart of the city. We are a family of 5, (3 adults and 2 children 7/2), so standard hotel rooms are simply too small for us. We absolutely loved The Knight Residence. We arrived earlier than standard check-in time, but they had no problem allowing us to check right in to our 2 bedroom apartment. There was bread, milk, juice, a wide selection of cereals and tea/coffee/snacks waiting for us in the room. Also, there is a Sainsbury's around the corner which we used for additional breakfast items. They had welcome packs on the bed for our daughter's, which my baby carried the bear around with her everywhere the entire 6 days we were there!! The location is absolutely perfect! Short walk to Grassmarket and Castle. We walked everywhere we needed to go, and used the hop on/hop off bus and city bus for everything else that wasn't within walking distance (which wasn't much!). We were in town for the Rock N Roll 1/2 marathon, and the marathon route went right by the apartment which was nice, so we could cheer everyone on!! The only downside of the apartment is that the internet was a little spotty, and the only reason why it mattered was because my husband is in online classes. Obviously, it wasn't that big of a deal, and the excellent service outweighed the internet situation. I'm sure if I would have brought it up to the staff, they would have fixed it, but it wasn't that big of a problem to us. Don't be put off by the "strip clubs" on the corner- they didn't even phase us. We walked by them several times a day, and were never bothered. Never heard a peep at night by anything, except seagulls in the early morning! Excellent selection of newer movies, including children's movies, that were available to rent. We paid 1 pound and were allowed to keep the movies until we checked out 5 days later! Umbrellas are also available to use, and unfortunately, we needed them on this trip. Edinburgh is now one of our favorite cities, and we would definitely stay at The Knight Residence again! You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmbfan7716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Would recommend to friends, better then staying in a hotel. Well equipped apartment, close to the center & good local facilities. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay again, they even provided food on arrival free of charge, enough to last the weekend. Good stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigers010273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,704 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 217 in Edinburgh
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $120 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing