We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice change from a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Knight Residence by Mansley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice change from a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We selected the Knight Residence apartments primarily for the locations (an easy stroll to Grassmarket and a climb up to the Royal Mile) but after having stayed there it has been hard staying in a normal hotel again. The apartment was a real home from home and great for coming back to for a quick refreshment break (from the pre-stocked refrigerator) and rest between bouts of sightseeing. The cheap on-site parking was a real bonus too.
A few people have mentioned some of the nearby clubs, but we never heard much noise and always felt perfectly safe walking back to the apartment, even late at night.
The staff were fantastically helpful and made sure we were fully settled in once we arrived. Having our name on the front door was a nice touch too! I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank djmuk1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    119
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
560
282
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from our 4th visit and it's still fantastic. The apartments are spacious, clean and have got everything you could need. The location is great all the things you want to do in Edinburgh are within easy reach.

The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble and are always extremely friendly, courteous and above all know what great customer service is. I would like to mention Colin, one of the concierge, who was fantastic.

You would be hard pushed to beat this place.

See you all again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

If your looking for apartments rather than traditional hotel this is the place.
Great location and great accommodation. Well furnished and evertthing you need is there. TVs in all rooms and a great kitchen with everything you need. Also a big plus is parking at £6 a day which is very reasonable when you see what all the hotels charge. Once parked you can forget the car as all the sights and places to shop and eat are walkable.
The best recommendation I could give is I would stay again every time I visit Edinburgh.
Great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Knights Residence was perfect is many ways, the location, the apartment, the staff all
made our valentine weekend perfect.
We will be back pretty soon so much to do and see and only touched the surface, for
our first experience of Edinburgh we were delighted.
Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clancameron118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here just a few days ago, what a find, Location is amazing right close to the Castle (Edingburgh Castle)..Also a few minutes walk from the Grass Market Area which is full of places to eat, comedy Bars and just a great place to go..
We arrived to be greeted by Christopher manning the reception, his welcome was fab he is informative, professional and Friendly, if you asked him anything he knew how to come up with the information requested.
On arrival we were shown by Christopher our fab apartment that was amazingly Clean warm and we also had a welcome pack of loads of goodies ie: Cereal, Bread, Jam Butter Milk, Tea Coffee Sugar and Fresh Orange Juice and Apple Juice oh yes and Short bread Biscuits...this was great as we had just arrived and didn't feel we had to go out and buy things straight away..ohh must also ad that the Beds arec so so comfy-we have travelled to many places all over the world and never have we received such a fantastic welcome....thank you.
This Apartment was for the four of us,,,, so if you want somewere Central (cheap parking £6)...Clean..Warm..topped with Fantastic Customer service then do not hesitate you simply must stay here, we will most deffinatly return.
Thanks to all who made our stay so special, a special thank you to Christopher and Charlie..:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southportdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I cant say a bad word about this place.

Location is 5min walk to old town (bars).

The place is very secure with elctronic locks on the outer entrance and a key for the aprt itself.

Price is reasonable considering what you get. If you share a 2 bed aprt between 3 people it will cost you about 125e each altogether for 2nights. It says breakfast is included which means that the food is supplied for you to use in your kitchen.
They stock the fridge in the apartment with milk, apple juice, orange juice. Also provided are cereals and fresh bread.

The rooms are really nice and clean.
Bathrooms (there were 2 in our aprt) were nice, one main and one ensuite. Shampoo and gel is provided. So too are towels and these are changed daily by the staff.

The staff are very nice and even gave us an early check in at 830 in the morning!!

We will be back when we return to edinburgh.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvermouse82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have been regularly staying at TKR since it first opened which had to be 15 years ago at least. Some stays have been 1 night some 4/5 nights. On the few occasions when Ive not been able to get in Ive stayed else where, other serviced apartments and hotels. Nothing compares to The Knights at all.
It's like my second home in Edinburgh. In addition to the well appointed apartments the staff are excellent.
Can't really re come d it highly enough

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing