We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Waverley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$280
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$731
$569
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$247
$206
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$178
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$147
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,229)
Filter reviews
2,229 results
Traveler rating
538
913
480
157
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
913
480
157
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscott monumentprinces streetgreat locationtrain stationfirst flooredinburgh castlechristmas marketcorner roomtour busestriple roomyour luggagecentral locationbuffet breakfastprincess stnice bathroomreception areashort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,879 - 1,884 of 2,229 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We spent 4 nights here in early April and were very pleased overall. We had a premium room and we would recommend this to others as it gives the most stunning views across the city. We had a raised seating area in a bay window with uninterrupted views across to the Castle and to the west, and to the south Scott monument so close to us we could almost touch it! We had room 514 which was a good location as we were away from the worse of any stret noise and had beautiful views.
The room was comfortable and clearly recently refurbished.
The only negatives would be that the hotel pictures show 2 armchairs in each room but we had only one armchair plus a rather uncomfortable high back chair. We asked for another armchair but were told none were available!
Breakfast is a help yourself buffet and very adequate to set you up for the day.
The restaurant has a limited evening menu which changes daily. We ate there once and it was ok, but there are better places to eat a short walking distance away.
The access may be difficult for some as there are mny stairs to negotiate to reach arrival, although ringing the bell for assistance brought 2 porters to us immediately who carried our luggage up to reception for us. Unloading a car outside the hotel would be nigh on impossible in our experience and so we parked the car and carried our luggage the 7-8 minute walk.
All in all, it was a very comfortable stay and we would stay there again. It is very convenient for all the major attractions and we had a comfortable stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maidmarianSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

we arrived in edinburgh airport and just outside the door was a sutttls to princess st ( where the hotel is located) £3.50 each and it takes about 25mins. Princess st. is the last stop. we got off the bus and we could see the hotel was located about 2 hundred yards away which was fantastic. we checked in which only took a cuple mins...staff were nice. our room was lovely..very clean and the bathroom was nice and big, the shower was great. there was loads of tea/coffee/biscuits...twice what you usually get. tyhe room wasnt hugh but was definetly sufficient. our room faced princess st.
we went to the bar to get soom food which was nice. the bar decour however was dull and there was no sofas..just chairs. but to be fair, when you come to edinburgh ..you wont be spending much time in bar.
breakfast was great..buffet style..a great selection of a fry and also cereals, fruit, youghurts, crossaints and juices.
overall we paid €185 for a double room in c breakfast in total for 2 nights. i thought that was very cheap. the location is amasing...you cant get more central that this. you are right beside loads of great shops, the royal mile ( st. with pubs and shops) is 5 min walk away, the famous castle is 5 min walk away! loved it.....was great value!
would love to go back again!
stay here..you won be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALICE100Louth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

What a great hotel, right on Princess Street, the main road in Edinburgh Scotalnd! Right across the road from the main train station at Waverley! Amazing restaurant in the hotel for a full Scottish Breakfast, including Haggis! Lots of hot water for a big bath or a long shower. Cozy beautiful room at a great price. I had a view of Edinburgh Castle from my lovely room for the same price as a youth hostel!

Extremely friendly staff. I really needed to store a lot of heavy books in my luggage and the staff were only too happy to help out, storing my stuff for two days, while I went to visit the incredible tartan factories in Selkirk, Lochcarron and Dalgliesh Tartan factories. Near the Old Waverly there is the main bus station. Just take the number 62 bus from the bus station to Peebles. Then change buses in Peebles and go on to Selkirk.

A lovely drive though the Scottish borders countryside. I highly recommend the Old Waverly Hotel in Edinburgh Scotland. Growing up, I lived in Scotland for more than ten years and I was impressed by this hotel. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floss3xwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

My husband and I visited the Old Waverley in February for a 2 night break.

We flew up to Edinburgh but getting into the city was no problem as we hopped on a bus directly outside the Arrivals terminal. Within 20 minutes we were at the Waverley Station, our hotel just across the road.

The staff were polite and friendly and nothing appeared too much trouble.

The room was small but clean and tidy and very comfortable.

The breakfast choice was excellent and if it wasn't on the menu you only had to ask.

We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggywiggy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Recently stayed in this hotel on 17th March for 2 nights , the hotel was very easy to get to from there airport and right next to waverlety station ( 20 mins via airlink coach £6 return ) which was a excellent location , 5 mins walk to edinburgh castle , we actually ate breakfast looking at the castle. i would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit edinburgh , i stayed here on a friend advice and was not not disappointed.
Great hotel very clean and comfortable , hope this helps

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenny147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews