We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Shopping begins.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #103 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Kenilworth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Shopping begins.......”
Reviewed December 6, 2008

One of the advantages of being self employed is that you can take time off midweek to begin your Christmas Shopping to avoid the midweek rush. Edinburgh is the perfect destination for this and the Old Waverly Hotel has got to be one of the best sitauted hotels, apart from the imposing Balmoral, to do this.
We crossed the road from the station and we were right there. The entrance actually looked really dodgy and we were a bit worried as we went in but the actual hotel itself is very nice inside. The staff were really friendly and could not do enough for us and the room was really nice and large enough for a big family, but it would have been nice to have a room with a view over the castle, but these were all taken. Did not try the food at night although the restaurant looked really nice, but did have breakfast where it was absolutely mobbed. Have never tries Haggis for breakfast before but it was nice, a bit like black pudding.
All in all, I would say the hotel is good value for money, spotlessly clean with really nice staff. I would say that you should try and get a room with a view, we will do this as she wants to go back for the Festival in 2009.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — view from room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    842
    433
    142
    133
See reviews for
361
895
179
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed just one night but were very impressed by the quality and friendliness of the service and very pleased by the bedroom and bathroom finishes.
The hotel is just a short walk across the road from Waverley Station and whilst there is a walk up to a first floor reception, the staff are happy to carry bags for you.
The public rooms are well appointed and the bar and parts of the restaurant overlook Princes Street and the castle etc.
Bar prices are expensive but no more than you would expect from a prime location city centre hotel.
The hearty English breakfast was buffett style and was included in the room rate for the booking I had made - there was even haggis for those looking for a 'Scottish' experience.
Shop around for room rates - you'll get much better than advertised rack rate outside of peak periods.
Overall, we were very impressed and would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EuroVisitorMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldwaverley, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2008
A great review and we are deilighted that this guest had such and enjoyable stay. It is good to hear our location being so highly praised.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Date: 27th October 2008
Reviewer: Gary Gt Barr, Birmingham

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Waverley. Read several reviews prior to staying, and went with a great deal of uncertainty. After reading of bed bugs, poor food, dirty surroundings and rude and unhelpful staff I was armed almost with a clipboard intent on staying no longer than a matter of minutes!

How wrong..I tried desperately not to enjoy my stay, but could not find anything at all to complain about, the only thing I could comment about was how busy Princes Street is, but staying on the main road in Edinburgh City Centre what else could you expect?

Perfect location, very clean, good food and staff who went out of their way to help.

Cant understand negative comments, maybe someone had had a bad day!!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank jamesavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit to Edinburgh.The hotel,the Old Waverley, was in a suberb location in the centre of Edinburgh,ideal for sightseeing and shopping.The hotel itself was excellent.The restaurant was very good,and staff very friendly and helpful.Edinburgh is a beautiful city to visit.Hope to go back next year,and will book to stay at the Old Waverley again

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank royandmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldwaverley, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2008
Sincerest gratitude to Roy and Michele for such a glowing review- we are justifiably proud of our high levels of service and it is encouraging to hear such positive customer feedback.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Well having read previous reviews i was very dubious about staying in this hotel but i needn't have worried it was great. The location is ideal right across from Waverley Bridge where all of the tour buses go from, within walking distance of the Royal Mile and the Castle and slap bang in the middle of the shops.!
The rooms were lovely and clean and spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wendywink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Stayed at the height of the festival in August and whereas the hotel and its location were first class - I was amazed at how much a room for the night costs in Edinburgh at this time. The hotel itself looks to be a very old building on the outside but has been recently done up and is a nice four star standard, even if the rooms are a bit small. However, it costs over £200 a night in August and add on £12 for breakfast and it works out a very expensive trip. That said, we did shop around before hand and every hotel we looked at was extortiionate - especially when you look at what they charge for the winter period. If you have to go to Edinburgh - avoid the summer.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank willscathlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We found the staff to be very obliging. They were friendly and positive towards us throughout our stay. The rooms were fine and the breakfast was very good. The location of this hotel can not be beaten, right in the heart of Edinburgh; close to the train station and the airport bus stop, a few minutes away from The Royal Mile and right on the main shopping street.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Appearance
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PaceyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 149 in Edinburgh
332 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,315 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing