We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A party of 6 of us stayed here for the recent Rugby weekend. The general consensus is that the hotel is 'worn and tired'.
Yes it has got lovely views and very pleasant, helpful staff etc .
Unless you pay extra for large-bedded rooms, the other rooms are very small. We all had double beds(not kingsize!) and found them to be very small and prevented us from getting good nights sleep. The rooms we had, had very little space in them and felt very claustrophobic
The public areas need new carpets and a general 'spruce up' .
All in all , did the job but would think twice about staying here again

Room Tip: pay extra for a large bedded room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

My thanks to his reviewer for their honest feedback and I am happy to acknowledge that certain areas of the Old Waverley do need addressed and we are wroking on this right now. We recently replaced all the beds in the hotel and added a brand new carpet on the reception and first floors and htis is just the beginning of the works planned. We take great pride in our fabulous property and have no intention of letting things slip!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

I checked in to a lovely old fashioned room with a fabulous view of the Castle. The staff were all helpful and welcoming. The room had an excellent modern bathroom with a huge walled mirror. In the bedroom, the two comfortable chairs and table in the bay window overlooking one of the finest views in Edinburgh made for total relaxation.
In the morning, the self service buffet breakfast was well above average and offered Haggis, Black Pudding, sausages, Back Bacon, tomatoes, baked beans, scrambled eggs and fried/poached/ boiled eggs available on request. There was a selection of cereals as well as fruit juices, fresh fruits, croissants and toast (that one had to toast oneself-not too difficult).. Coffee and tea were served by attentive staff.. I mention this in detail as some TripAdvisors have called this breakfast poor. They must have still been asleep. It was a really good buffet breakfast.
Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of the offering served in 'Cranstons' (the Hotel Restaurant) at Lunch and Dinner. Dinner was particularly appalling, as it was only an extension of the lunchtime menu and nearly twice the price.
For my Dinner starter, I chose the Chicken Live Pate. I was served with the basest supermarket pate floating on a tomato sauce with a drizzle of some black liquid signature on the right hand side of the plate. The left hand side of the plate was decorated with four randomly arranged Ritz Crackers.
The main course of pan fried Lamb Chops was served as a peculiar grey coloured arrangement with vastly overcooked vegetables arranged in some sort of rotunda and with three of the most miniscule and overcooked lamb cutlets that I have ever seen. The decoration was finished with four spooned arrangement of what was alleged to be garlic mashed potatoes, that were stone cold and completely bereft of any taste.
In summary, stay at the Hotel, enjoy the Breakfast but steer well clear of Cranstons until they sort out the obvious problems.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view of Princes Street (PSV Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

we stayed in February and it really is a lovely hotel the staff are so helpful and friendly its very comfortable. When you first go in you have to go up a few steps but the stairway adds to the character its in a great location right on princes street and not far from the castle . We did stay at the back of the hotel which you could still hear the road but if you stayed at the front I could imagine it would be quite noisey ,Its very clean and very comfortable bed overall had a lovely stay here and would go back again,

Room Tip: we stayed in a double room which was a good size and a big bathroom great value for money I would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trickster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is ideally placed for walking around the city centre and for travelling further afield thanks to it's proximity to the bus stops on Princes Street. Public rooms are very clean and comfortable. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant were of very good quality. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable too with a view of the castle. All in all a very nice hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLeazesEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked rail tickets for my Birthday, on checking i found that i had booked to come home the following day so i needed to book a hotel for the night, i went on to find this hotel and give them a ring, i was quoted £79 for the night, so we booked it, on arrival we found that you had to climb a lot of stairs to get to reception, when we got there we are told are room will not be ready untill 15:00, we left are case and went for a walk, on returning we booked in and went to are room, we booked a standard double which was lovely and clean and comfortable, the only down part was the bathroom it was very compact, my wife is only 5" 4 and she could not lie in the bath, but for one night this was not a problem, we went down to the bar about 18:45 for a quick drink before going out for a meal, and was told by another guest if i wanted a draught beer i would have to wait as they decided to clean the lines of the beers which could have being done earlier in the day. after a good nights sleep we went down for breakfast and was shown to a table and was asked if we wanted tea or coffee, we then went up to the buffett breakfast it was a good choice and was piping hot, the staff at the hotel could have not being any friendlier, we would stay here again but we would asked for a larger bathroom.

Room Tip: Don,t go for a standard double as the bathroom is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDITH056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Some of the critical comments I have read are a little harsh given the location and overall value of this hotel. It is a little tired and old fashioned, the small double rooms are small but at least I had a bath and you need to negotiate quite a few steps. Set your expectations realistically and enjoy the value and location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,721 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#77 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,060 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $77 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing