We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Waverley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$266
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$280
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$247
$206
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$731
$569
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$178
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$147
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,229)
Filter reviews
2,229 results
Traveler rating
538
913
480
157
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
913
480
157
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscott monumentprinces streetgreat locationtrain stationfirst flooredinburgh castlechristmas marketcorner roomtour busestriple roomyour luggagecentral locationbuffet breakfastprincess stnice bathroomreception areashort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,191 - 1,196 of 2,229 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here mid November when attending a concert. Hotel perfectly placed on Princes Street, with superb views of the Old Town and the Edinburgh Castle, and just around the corner from Georges Street, Rose Street, and St Andrew's Square, so perfect for a shopaholic. The hotel is of a gentler age - swags and tails , and in need of some TLC, but quirky and a great base for exploring a fabulous city. Walking distance to all attractions (flat shoes ladies!), and the tour bus is just outside Waverley Station across the road. The bedroom was clean and functional, with character -sloping ceilings with round windows, and a floor which obviously was off square...but it all added to the experience. Breakfast was adequate (I like haggis so I was happy) and there were cook to order options in addition to the usual cereals/fruit/yoghurts. Flight of stairs to the reception area, so it may be a little problematic for those with mobility difficulties, but a very pleasant porter is on hand to give assistance. Got the hotel as part of a deal with flights so good value

Room Tip: Floor 6 for the round windows!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smythy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

A superb and comprehensive review for the Old Waverley and I am grateful to this guest for pointing out some of our finer touches, such as the swags and tails in every room. I look forward to welcoming them to Edinburgh again soon..
Leon Kiteley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My daughter and I spent a Sunday night in December at the Waverley. Our twin room was very large and the bathroom very modern. Our room was on the corner of Princes Street and overlooked the Christmas Festival at Princes Street Gardens. The music was very loud but ended a little after 10:00PM. The traffic noise was fairly loud all night, primarily buses. You ring the bell at the start of the 20-something steps and a porter carries your luggage. We were able to have our luggage securely held until check in and the front desk arranged for a taxi to the airport for the next morning. The only strange thing was a £25 charge on the credit card for any room charges. This was a pending charge on the card and was not processed. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is in a prime location right in the heart of Princes Street, reception, communal areas and restaurant all very nice, our room was not so good, frosted windows and when you opened the window you looked out onto what I can only describe as a black hole!! So no matter what time of day it was you had to have the lights on. Bed was comfortable and shower excellent, just a little bit tired on the whole and in need of redecorating. Breakfast was excellent and got seated with no problem both days - even on a busy weekend. Have stayed here before and will stay again, may request a room with a view next time though.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over Princes Street are fantastic but be prepared to pay over the odds.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimStocktonontees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

hello, just returned from the Old Waverley, must say we thought a bit pricey over £320 for 3 nights, however very clean and breakfast great. Must agree that the dirty linen all over the place in the mornings doesn't look good, but in fairness its a very busy hotel, with very polite staff, so when else could they clean all those rooms. Hotel was full to brim, but managed to get a better room for our last night on corner at front, with great view along princes street. Would we return.. yes, but not if i we were put in room 418 again. thanks to all the front desk staff and the manager, all very polite and knowledgeable.

Dawn Phillips Stayed 6th to 9th December 2013

Room Tip: dont have room 418, for what we paid very expensive and small, with a view of a wall
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tone2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel, though it does show some wear and tear. Room very clean and comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful. This hotel is very central being situated on Princes Street, short walking distance to railway station. Only down side of stay was breakfast which cold. Would I stay again, yes, but with a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews