We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #101 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Winter stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel for The Capitols attractions,excellent breakfast,very comfortable. Christmas market is across the road, and the view of the castle is second to none. We had a small complaint and it was fixed in no time at all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Many thanks to this reviewer for such wonderful feedback on the Old Waverley, and for taking the time to share their thoughts even though their trip was so long ago. Hope to welcome them back this coming Winter....

Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    797
    411
    130
    131
See reviews for
339
858
174
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
red12345
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute and considering it was bank holiday weekend we were surprised at how cheap it was compared to surrounding hotels and its location being on Princes Street .Once you arrive you have to make your way up a flight of stairs as they don't have a lift at street level . They do have a button for you to press should you require assistance . Fortunately we are able bodied but if you are in a wheelchair or otherwise disabled then you would need to consider booking elsewhere . ( at no point did I notice on the booking site anything regarding this but that may have been because it's not something that I would be looking for ) What we actually found was a great hotel with a fantastic location .Our room was booked as a double junior ( inner hotel ) we thought we would have a room with no window but at £80 we thought for 1 night it won't be a problem . Our room was on the fourth floor looking onto princess street gardens and the Sir Walter Scott Monument so we were more than happy . My biggest gripe and only one regarding this hotel is that they charge for wifi . It may only be £5.00 for 24 hours but I wouldn't care if it was less as hotels should be offering this as a free service to encourage visitors to stay at there hotels .

Room Tip: Junior double room 408 great view along with rooms on the corner of the building .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgekennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Good to read some more kind words regarding the Old Waverley and its terrific location. Sorry to learn that this guest was unhappy with our wi-fi charges, which I think are very reasonable given the strength and consistency of our service, but I will review these with the team in the New Year.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gt Britain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at The Old Waverley Hotel 11 - 15th August. Paid for an upgrade to have a Castle view, which was a good job because the friends we travelled with took pot luck and finished up with a wall outside their window. We ate in the Restaurant one night and unfortunately for us the Chef was off duty and his under chef was on. Terrible meal. My husband had to send his back and it was only chicken. We were offered a round of drinks by the management and it was deducted from the bill. No abience in restaurant at all. Breakfast very mundane, no change for the whole time we were there. Wouldn't stay there again, but will return to Edinburgh. It is a fantastic city. The Tattoo was fantastic.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a room facing Princes Street. Bite your lip and enjoy the view and the fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at The Old Waverley before. We choose it mainly for it's position on Princess Street. The breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful, although most of them didn't speak English very well, so it was sometimes hard to understand them. Our room was comfortable but noisy, overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaS645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very convenient for airport bus and rail station. Literally five minutes from the Castle and Royal Mile. Access to hotel from street to first floor (second for Americans) by stairs only; not easy if travelling with heavy bags. Carpeting rather tatty and worn. Our room, at the front of the building, had a good view of Princes Street Gardens and up to the Castle. And music: there was a bagpiping busker on the corner of Waverley Bridge from morning to evening. The old floor slopes gently from the window towards the bathroom. Otherwise quite comfortable, except for the wash-basin in the bathroom, set too high. Only one lift from reception to six floors of rooms; absolutely insufficient. Acceptable buffet-style breakfast, although black pudding on the dry side. Staff very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Only the rooms at the front have views of the Gardens and Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked the Old Waverley hotel because it is so close to the train station. A few problems. There is a fairly high staircase when you come in the front door from the street to the reception.[app. 25 stairs -no elevator]. When you get up about 8 stairs, dragging your suitcases there is a buzzer which will get someone to help with you bags. Their website says only that is is not handicapped accessible. It is more than that. Then you cannot check into 3 pm - they will not check to see if any rooms happen to be ready, not will they do the paper work to save time later- both for them and for the client. So at 3 pm the reception area is very crowded.
Bedroom OK. Breakfast OK. I orderd a chicken caesar salad for dinner that night. It was the worst I have ever had. I pulled out about 1/3 of a cup of anchovies that were the size of my little finger . Oil only on the wilted lettuce. No sign of lemon or vingar-- an oily fishy mess. I brought it to the attention of the waiter and showed him the pile of anchovies but he just shrugged . I was charged full price for the unedible salad. Needless to say I didn't eat there again. Dinning room almost empty - I guess I should have taken that as a clue to the quality of food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Having booked an Amazon deal with Cranstons restaurant online in advance, we were a little surprised to being seemingly unexpected! When we arrived we told to sit down and there we sat for around 10/15 minutes before I finally approached another member of staff who then did ensure someone came to take an order. Afternoon tea came as the choice of one sandwich filling and two other items chosen from scones or cakes. The scones were warm although a little heavy but with a choice of jams and sufficient cream for two. Cakes sounded good but were less inspiring when tasted - I had the carrot cake which was a little dry and made me wish I had had my alternate choice of a chocolate brownie cake - who knows whether this would have been an improvement. The tea itself was served as a teabag in the cup with a teapot full,of hot water. however the waiter did bring another smaller pot of hot water on request. The restaurant was in the process of 'setting up for diner" at 3pm so it was suggested we would stay in the smaller reception room, which was quite pleasant. The deal I had booked ensured a £2/person discount and at less than £14 - this was an acceptable deal. However if you want a special afternoon tea experience, this is probably not the place to go. Most of the staff appear to be mildly disinterested at best, although our actual waiter (?David) was an improvement and more pleasant. You can teach them the job but not the courtesy it would seem for many of the staff here. The saying - you get what you pay for- is certainly true here. Acceptable but no great shakes !

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattsmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
As much as we welcome all guest feedback - this review seems rather muddled. We have never sold any product, least of all Afternoon Tea, through Amazon, we never serve Afternoon Tea in Cranston's - always in The Abbotsford Room, we do not set up for dinner during the day - this is done after breakfast with the exception of any tables that are used for lunch and we do not have a waiter called David. That said, I encourage all potential customers to experience for themselves our Afternoon Tea, a product and service of which we are all very proud
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing