We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice visited and happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Old Waverley is just that --old. I love it. I fell in love on my first visit. We had to wait on our rooms in the lovely bar. The large window was open over the park with the piper playing. Magic. The room was old and cramped and absolutely wonderful. I think the folks who write bad reviews need to stay at a Holiday Inn Express. But you know what. When I am in Edinburgh, I want to be at a fabulous place like this. And I am dismayed at the bad reviews of the service. The young people here are just grand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Not worth the price of admission. In desperate need of updating and the staff needs to learn how to accommodate guests. The wifi never worked properly, and this made trying to do business very difficult. When asked about, "oh we will reboot the server", well that didn't help. Never was offered compensation for it either. One night our room didn't have heat, and the staff came up to verify and suggested a space heater.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sroberts614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location - right next to the city train station and bus station to the airport, walking distance to the Royal Mile and Holyrood Park, and plenty of restaurants around. Room is a bit small but overall nice. Breakfast is below average.

Room Tip: Would recommend higher floors and street facing rooms to have a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JoannaShan522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been to Edinburgh many times, but this was our first stay at the Old Waverley. Due to a train break down we didnt arrive till after midnight, but the staff were friendy and helpful anyway.
The hotel is old fashioned, but that adds to its charm.
Good quality, clean rooms and a first class breakfast.
The location is second to non. Will definately pay a revisit here

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARKAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located on princes street and couldn't be in a better location.
The rooms are clean and of a decent size and the breakfast is good.
There were a lot of foreign travellers staying and the staff did their best with different languages and requests?

Would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEvans36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at the Old Waverley in early March and although it was very cold outside, the Hotel was warm and comfortable. We were given a free upgrade (presumably because it was a quiet time of year) to a room which overlooked Princes Street; thank you! We didn't experience any noise at night, but the room was rather warm. Spacious bathroom and good shower, comfortable beds, tea and shortbread in room much appreciated. Pleasant bar area overlooking Princes St. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast room and lots of choice, but it would help to keep the food warm if the plates provided were hot to start with. Luggage was stored securely for us before and after check in/out.
As others have said, it is an ideal location for sightseeing trip, close to Station, Royal Mile and shops and restaurants, with bus stops very close. We were able to walk a very short distance, hop on the 22 and visit Royal Yacht Britannia. (£3.50 buys a ticket which can be used on any bus all day long)
If I were to visit again I would have no hesitation in booking at the Old Waverley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had stayed here before and perhaps the memory was better than we thought. The hotel itself is a little tired, the rooms are small and are either noisy at the front, or look on to a lane at the back. We had lunch which was alright although over seasoned, once we had found someone to take the order. Breakfast in the morning was something else, long wait for tea and the food, what there was of it was cold as were the plates. The playing of scottish music of an 1950's vintage might be expected by foreign visitors but if we are trying to promote an image of a modern Scotland, Jimmy Shand, with all due respect to his family, is not the way to go. Don't think we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fellowtravellers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,716 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#78 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,059 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $82 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing