We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Waverley Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #103 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“The Old Waverley Hotel”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A characterful older type hotel on Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh The hotel is located opposite the Scot Memorial with views over Waverley Gardens and of course Edinburgh Castle.
The hotel itself is pleasant and the rooms first class.
I stayed there for two nights and found it very pleasant. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the location cant be bettered. Anyone travelling by train the railway station is a five minute leisurely walk away. By car and there are excellent short and long stay car parks within a ten minute walking distance.
My room was very pleasant and tasteful and overlooked the Scot Memorial, see pictures below
Overall excellent, good value for money and a thoroughly pleasant stay. The game pie from room service at £4 is highly recommended. Breakfasts are ok but a bit expensive at 11.50 a throw, I went around the corner and had a equally pleasant breakfast at £5. However if its raining or unpleasant weather eat in the hotel. Summer time eat anywhere you want. Keyhloes steak house on Rutland Street about fifteen minute walk away is brilliant
Edinburgh castle looks very nice at night illuminated
I hope to see Edinburgh again in the summer and it is highly likely I will stay at The Old Waverley
Right criticisms which are minor, yes the doors are a little heavy in the entrance and the lift is the smallest I have ever been in but overall these do not detract from the appeal of this hotel and as for the people who cant carry their luggage up the stairs due to idleness there is a bell use it !!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on Princes Street side for the view. They do charge extra however I booked three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericcaubritannicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
An excellent review and very well said! I particualrly appreciate this guest's forthright approach to our entrance which echoes my sentiments of recent reviews, although in a much more matter of fact manner. Much appreciated.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    842
    433
    142
    133
See reviews for
361
895
179
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was ideally situated near the train station and was very close to both old and new parts of the city. Old fashioned decor, but old fashioned customer service too, which was friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Old Waverley Hotel. We booked one of their deals which gave us breakfast, 3 course evening meal and a room for £82 per night for 2 people. The location was excellent, just across the road from the station and in the main Princes Street area. Although our room only had a frosted glass window, at the back of the hotel we did not find it a problem. The room was very clean and comfortable with an absolutely huge bed. The bathroom had a bath with a shower over and again this was very clean. Infact the cleaning staff were really good and the girls always had a friendly hello in the morning. All of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke really good English. The food was good and there was always plenty at breakfast. The food was hot and the kitchen just kept it on coming! We were very surprised that not more people had taken up the internet offer as it represented really good value for money and thats all we could have asked for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
My thanks to this guest for a detailed and hugely positive review of the Old Waverley, and I am especially gratified to read the hotel described as "really good value for money". Hope to welcome these travelers again soon.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good pricing, nice rooms with very comfy beds. I found the staff very helpful when I wanted to buy paracetamol at 11:00pm! By far the best bit is the location. It is possible to see the entrance to Edinburgh Waverly and the tourist info office from the entrance to the hotel and the number of buses available outside your door makes it easy to get anywhere. Despite all the buses, my room was completely quiet (though I didn't have a Princes Street view).

Oh the down side, it's a bit weird having to go up a set of stairs before getting to the lobby and then to get to the other floors the one lift is infuriatingly slow. Also, some of the carpets and mats could do with changing, thought the ones in the rooms are fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhavyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
A great review overall and I was sorry to read that there were any negatives, although I am pleased to hear that they are well overshadowed by all the positive aspects of the Old Waverley. There is little we can do about our entrance, unfortunately, restricted as we are by our architecture,however I am pleased to announce we are currently in the process of deciding on an alternative to our current older floor coverings and expect work to begin soon.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I just returned from a three night stay at the Old Waverley. The location was perfect for me as I was in town mostly to see the sights and attend an event. The lobby is up a flight of stairs but I knew that before I booked and there is a discreet button that one can push and someone will come help with luggage. I had breakfast one morning which was fine - not great but not bad. The other mornings I went to the Sainsbury's a half block away and brought something back to the room. The staff was gracious and helpful. Although I was traveling alone, I booked a double room with a view of Princes Street. It was worth every penny - the view was terrific - the room was comfortable and the bath was just fine with a lovely strong shower. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view - it costs extra but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty7351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION.
There is no getting away from the fact that the Old Waverley is the best situated hotel in Edinburgh, but I am glad to read that this guest has taken the time to list many of our other virtues - many thanks!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Old Waverley Hotel. Excellent location on Princes Street, a couple of minutes walk from the train station. Booked a room at the back of the hotel, which was fine, we don't go to a hotel to sit looking out of the window, like to be out and about. Was only slightly more expensive than Premier Inn/Travelodge, well worth the extra money. Hotel is full of character, warm and cosy. Room was only small but had everything you could possibly need. Bathroom well stocked, shower really powerful. Breakfast lovely, plenty of choice, great views from window of castle and Princes Street. No complaints, will definitely return to this hotel when next in Edinburgh, would recommend highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Partygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the Old Waverley in gorgeous Edinburgh. A perfect location.Even though the hotel was a little shabby in places we enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room, overlooking Princes Street, was warm and cosy and very comfortable with lots of charm. Well worth the extra charge to see the wonderful old buildings and monuments over Princes Street from our room. The food in Cranstons restaurant was very good. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to be back again when we get the chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pansyface4254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 149 in Edinburgh
332 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,316 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing