We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On Princes Street!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #104 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On Princes Street!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked on day we went and delighted with situation. However we had an internal room with a false window and no views. I would suggest checking to make sure this was not the case when booking. However the room was fine and the bathroom beautiful. Cannot comment on breakfast as it was a room only deal and breakfast was £11.95 each. BHS stores and Wetherspoons nearby give better value. Staff friendly and helpful and no problem leaving bags for collection later. Very convenient for buses and trains and touristy things!

Room Tip: Ask where room looks onto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilsa666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
A short but sweet review and my thanks to this guest for taking time to record their positive experiences at the Old Waverley.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    816
    423
    136
    132
See reviews for
347
878
175
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has a great placement of Prince's street, so you get all the ease of being central, but none of the noise of a boisterous nightlife. Stayed here and got a 'junior double room'. We found our room spacious enough as we were only looking for a base, and our view wasn't bad either. What I liked about this hotel gave a private feel and I thought it good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank say_what00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a double room, we were attending a funeral as well as seeing some of the sights of Edinburgh as my parther had not been before. The room was smaller than expected due to seeing photos on hotel website but nevertheless adequate and comfortable and clean, we did pay extra for the view overlooking Princess Street. The only problem I had in the room was the bed as 2 single beds were pushed together and there seemed to be a dip in the bed which was uncomfortable but I didn't mention this to hotel staff and sure this could be easily rectified. There was plenty of hot water in the bathroom and had the best bath ever for a long time, a lovely deep bath. I wasn't keen on breakfast the first day although my partner enjoyed his. I am not keen on buffet breakfasts I did try a sausage which I thought was of poor quality as also the bread for the toast which you had to make yourself and for £11.95 each for breakfast it seemed a bit steep. The tea for one was served in a very small teapot and even with one teabag in was very strong a separate pot of boiling water was needed. On the second morning I had breakfast in my room as only had a croissant and toast and my partner went down for the buffet breakfast unfortunately no cup and saucer arrived for my tea and milk was served in a teapot. My partner enjoyed his breakfast again but he did say no milk came with his coffee. I will say that the buffet breakfast was replenished frequently from observation. We had lunch at the hotel on the second day as we were attending a funeral and booked a taxi via the hotel no problem. The lunch was reasonably priced at £6.95 although I did not find the food enjoyable, I would definately stay at the hotel again but would find other eating arrangements. The staff were friendly and helpful even when very busy and with some new staff. The location is excellent for the train station, Shops and exploring the centre of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here in a triple room for one night b&b when going to see dirty dancing in the playhouse. The room was small but it had all you needed. Three proper single beds a bonus - no sofa bed. Our view wasn't bad either. We could look out on to princes street and even see the castle. Breakfast was all you needed although I did find some out of date yogurts at the bottom of the bowl. Staff really friendly and helpful. You had no problem leaving your bags before and after checking in and out. Perfect location. Just across the road from Waverley station. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent few days in there. Cozy, warm and clean room with a wonderful view toward the castle (reccommended). In a minute you are in the main street of the city and very close to the bus station for the shuttle service to the airport. The breakfast was very complete and full of fresh food and really well cooked. Right price, I'llbe there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Old Waverley hotel is our favorite hotel! This was our third stay in the hotel. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world, and this is were we get most value for money. It is in the middle of high street, quiet, nice and clean rooms, welcoming staff and we will stay there again. We wouldn't concider staying anywere else next time we go to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsharrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

good location on princess street across from railway station. on a rugby week end recently.lobby and reception area small .staff were friendly and checked us in early.room was good with a nice view.10 min walk to old town. hotel located on main shopping street.overall a good hotel well located

Room Tip: ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
A lovely few words on the Old Waverley and we are all extremely grateful for the sentiment. Our location IS superb, no arguments there, but, much as this guest has intimated, I think one of our biggest selling points is the friendliness of our staff.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,769 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing