We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“centrally located across waverley station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
jakarta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“centrally located across waverley station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel location in princes street is really ideal for me as I came from London by train to Edinburgh Waverley station. Just across the street from the station. My room was bigger than what I thought for booking a single room. I think I got upgraded to double internal room (thank you for this surprised). The room is quite spacious, clean, with big bathroom. The minus thing was the room still smell of painting or something like that. Maybe this was a new/after renovation? No view from the window because it was only accessory glass with lamp on it that can switch on or off. Not a problem for me as I only sleep and didnt spend much time in the room. Got good price for this room actually. Breakfast was average. More fruits, please. Definitely will stay again.

Room Tip: The internal room was quite. Good for sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h35ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    806
    418
    132
    132
See reviews for
342
868
174
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here with my Mum on a Christmas shopping trip to Edinburgh. We had a lovely cosy room facing on to Princes Street. The staff are very pleasant and the hotel's location means you can access it easily from Edinburgh Waverley Station as well as reach all the shops. We had dinner in the restaurant 'Cranstons' which was excellent and you can get good value for money if you prebook your dinner at time of online reservation.
Hope to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Overall good after reading a few reviews on here was a tad aprehensive booking but did so and glad I did great location right in the centre and overlooking the winter fair,made a pleasent change from holiday/premier inns and for the price we paid amazing value
Only minor niggles were breakfast the the room it was in seemed to be in semi darkness lights were there just not on perhaps for a intimate dinner it would be ok but strange for breakfast.
And as for noise yes you do hear some but you are on the main road in a city can't understand why people complain its a bit like going to london and complaining oxford street was busy
For location and value I think it was a fantastic find and will return

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ste68Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here after moving from an appalling Guesthouse. The staff here were great and made us very welcome. Our room was comfortable and clean and we enjoyed the breakfast. We would stay again.

Room Tip: We found the hotel on a late booking site as we were desperate to move quickly from where we were. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnT108108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife's birthday. A Christmas Weekend, sans enfants, in Edinburgh. Hotel selected for location on Princes Street and proximity to New Town (restaurants I wanted to revisit), Old Town (sites to visit especially Mary King's Close) and convenience of the Aircoach.
When booking I'd mentioned reason for staying and was pleasantly surprised to find that we'd been given a room overlooking Princes Street Gardens (nice touch, the Birthday Card!).
Room was compact but very comfortable, fantastic bed, spotless bathroom (personal bugbear). Now to the Review Title ... our room overlooked Princes Street Gardens ... which in December hosts a fun fare, Christmas Market, Ice Rink and the cheesiest Chrimbo muzak ever. Both fantastic, wonderlandy and bloody nuts all at the same time.
Paid for breakfast which was very good. Only one day was a problem - everyone arrived for breakfast at same time and had to wait about 15 mins.
Too few staff for checking in and out - always seemed to be a queue. Didn't help that the guys on Desk were also managing the Baggage Store.
All-in-all we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid a Princes Street facing room in December. Fight like mad to get one for every other month!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NokyEily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at The Old Waverley Hotel Saturday 15th December. The location was excellent.
Bedroom [triple] spacious and comfortable. The staff were efficient and polite.
Enjoyed a sandwich lunch in the bar and it was reasonably priced. Breakfast very good I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stirling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
A fantastic review for the Old Waverley albeit short and sweet. There is not much more I can add except to say many thanks to this guest and I hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the very near future.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, Malta
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spent the weekend in Edinburgh with hubby. Hotel has perfect location for sightseeing, just across the street from the Scott monument on Princes Street. Entrance small as expected from previous reviews, but we only had overnight bags so was not a problem for us. Reception staff polite most times, but rather indifferent at others. Paid for an internal room, and got a room with view of Princes Street, which was appreciated. Noise from outside was audible but not really a bother. Room was clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. Bed comfortable. Bathroom clean with great water pressure at shower. Breakfast room pretty with nice view. Decent breakfast selection, but missed chocolate to add to croissants (e.g. small Nutella helpings as with the jams would be a suggestion). Would recommend for a couples weekend city break (caution if impaired mobility) and will probably stay there again :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P-and-J-Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Another terffic review for The Old Waverley and many thanks to this guest for detailing their stay with us. I am glad we were able to offer a complimentary upgrade on this occasion as we will endeavour to do so whenever possible - glad to hear the fetsivities from the Winter Market were not troublesome but they will only be with us until the first week in January. We did experiment with Nutella as part of our breakfast offering some time ago but found it was not at all popular.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing