We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the same hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Waverley Hotel
Ranked #103 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Is this the same hotel?”
Reviewed November 26, 2007

The hotel was great, food was superb, room clean and well appointed except for the tv being too low, external noise was minimal and not a sign of bedbugs or any other beasties.

  • Liked — centre of the city
  • Disliked — reception staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kookie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    842
    433
    142
    133
See reviews for
361
895
179
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Despite the fact that the online booking agent made a mistake (Didn't inform the hotel of our upgrade to a premium view room) the staff could not have been better. We were sorted out with an equally good room overlooking Princes St., the Scott Memorial and the gardens. We were also given a complimentary bottle of champagne.(A good one too!) We were served drinks on the house by the manageress while the room was readied. We thought at first we were being given the run-around but everything they told me checked out.

The location is exceptional, straight out of the door and into the thick of the shopping frenzy.

The reception is up one flight of easy stairs but the Porter is only too willing to come down and carry up your bags.

The breakfasts were excellent (for a meat-eater like myself) and would have suited all tastes, even vegetarians. The bar meals were such incredibly good value we didn't have the Dinner Menu.

I have to make a statement about the staff. They were a mix of east european and scottish, with an odd Australian accent (I think) thrown in. They were, without exception, polite, accessible, interested and proactive in a way that I'd forgotten could happen.
My only regret is that I didn't leave them a bigger tip. I will book here again without any fear whatsoever of disappointment.

Bill Allerton

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cybermouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

I stayed here on business for one night and it was fine but not spectacular. Ate elsehwere, but the location is fabulous - right near the Princes St shops. Room a little tired, but generally ok for the price. Wouldn't stay again though.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old fashioned rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tpbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This hotel would be hard to beat on location, the staff were friendly enough & the hotel itself was nice enough, could maybe do with a wee update. The one thing that did annoy me was how pompt the staff where to kick you out of your room, i read in another review that the staff came in at 11.05am to get them out of the room, well this is exactly what happened to us, thankfully we were just ready to leave at the time but for goodness sake, slight breathing would have been nice, 15 mins at least. Overall no so bad, had a great night out in Edinburgh.....

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowMoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Location – Brilliant if you want to stay around the Prince/Rose/George Street area, as it’s literally on the doorstep. However, if you’re planning to go to the Grassmarket area it’s about £5 in a taxi or about a 20/30 minute walk. The Royal Mile is about a 15 minute walk and it’s mostly uphill so be wary of this. Not sure on how the buses are but there seem to be plenty so it might be worth asking reception. If you’re driving to the hotel then there a few NCP car parks which you can go to. If you get the train then it’s in a perfect place opposite the train station.


Checking in – There’s a flight of stairs from the main street to the reception but if you press the bell then the porter will be happy to assist you with your luggage. Checking in was very pleasant and the staff were extremely friendly. Make sure you have a credit card because you’ll be charged £20 in advance in case you incur and hotel charges (room service, etc). This will be refunded if you don’t use any services.

Bedroom – Rather disappointing. The room we were in was very small and at the rear of the hotel. It smelled of stale cigarettes and seemed rather grubby, I felt as if the curtains/bed throw/carpet hadn’t been cleaned – ever. We had to sleep under a sheet and a horrible brown itchy blanket as there were no duvets in the room and the throw was far to heavy and minging to sleep under. The bed was that close to the desk that I couldn’t even sit on the chair at the dressing table. The window wouldn’t stay open unless we wedged it open with an IRN BRU bottle. The general appearance of the room seemed rather stressed. No iron or ironing board and hairdryer was as powerful as a flea’s fart (I’d advise to take your own). Tea/coffee facilities were excellent. The noise was horrendous sometimes, even though we were on the 5th floor the noise from the rubbish men was very annoying (bins were at rear of hotel too).

Bathroom – Well decorated and clean but the bath water seemed to have a bit of yellow glow to it!?! I would suggest just using the shower instead.

Bar – Staff friendly, prices reasonable (bottle of Corona beer £3.30). Nice atmosphere and views of the castle. Doesn’t seem to get very busy.

Restaurant – Again, staff very friendly and helpful. Very pleasant and clean. Nice views of main streets.

Breakfast – If you like a hot, hearty, help yourself breakfast then this one will definitely please you. The food was tasty, fresh and set me up for the day. You can also get cereal, yoghurts, porridge, toast, juice, etc.

Other points to note – There seems to be some work going on in the hotel at the moment. We weren’t affected by this as the work was being done on the other floors, but some people were bothered by the noise and the mess. Rooms at the front of the hotel seem to be noisy due to traffic and shoppers, however, you can get internal rooms without windows.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Anyone thinking of staying in Edinburgh do not stay at the Old Waverley Hotel, we stayed there one night only!! never again, the room was the smallest room I have seen, The Hotel is run down, over priced and just terrible.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chessell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2007

In a great location although very noisy. We paid a supplement on top of the usual tarriff for a Premium View Room of £45 per night and were in the middle of a working refurbishment in two rooms next door. It was noisy with drilling and banging from 9am until 5pm on both days we were there and dusty with plastic covering the entrance to the room and the Manager of the Hotel had an appauling 'I don't care' attitude. We were still charged the supplement and whilst waiting in reception witnessed a variety of complaints by other guests. We suggest you stay well clear of this hotel and its Manager.

  • Liked — View of the Castle
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 149 in Edinburgh
332 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,315 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Property: The Old Waverley Hotel
Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing