We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveler rating
196
258
180
99
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
258
180
99
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitecontinental breakfastquiet streethuge bathroomhigh ceilingsyork placestaff at receptionlovely hotelprinces streetdouble roomstayed for one nightbars and restaurantscity centreenjoyable staylovely roomwithin easy walking distancetea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 839 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Having just left this hotel. We stayed one night. I have just read previous reviews which I was quite shocked at. We arrived early knowing that we wouldn't be able to check in but the girl was very friendly saying she would safe keep our luggage. When we came back to check in we got a friendly chap who showed us to our room. The room was lovely really couldn't find any fault with 310 as we only paid 89 pound I think it was superb it was certainly luxurious and we had a welcome bottle of wine. As far as breakfast I cannot comment on as we chose not to go for it. The previous criticism about a carpet yes I do agree that could do with being replaced but as you pay for a room does it really matter about something like that. So all in all superb and we will certainly be back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I arranged a surprise weekend away for us flying to and from the midlands to Edinburgh. I booked this hotel for the great location (walking distance to all the main sites) and because we prefer these boutique rather than chain hotels. What a disappointment! I paid extra for an executive room. We were in the basement with a view of a wall and our window was by steps leading to the pavement and busy road. Late into the night people and traffic noise could be heard. The TV was hanging off its bracket on the wall, the room was either freezing cold or baking hot and although the bathroom on the surface looked great, the water pressure and shower were awful. The service was bad, the breakfast was woeful and even though there is a bar downstairs there was no room service! When you phone the room service number in the terrible welcome pack (filled with warnings of extra charges!) we got a miserable, unhelpful "receptionist" who said there was no room service and we had to go to the bar "downstairs". Well bearing in mind we were in the basement "downstairs" sounded a bit odd to say the least! There is no way this is 4*.its lacking in every area. We certainly won't be returning!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have recently visited Edinburgh and stayed at the Albany Hotel in the New Town area of the city. The hotel markets itself as a boutique style and I suppose that it just about answers that description. Shabby chic is a bit more accurate - the whole place could do with a bunch of TLC and indeed the carpets in the public areas are threadbare to the point of being a hazard underfoot. Room 309 is at the rear of the hotel and the large floor to ceiling window looks directly onto a small car park which due to geography is on the same level as this room. As a result there is no privacy at all when occupying this room unless you draw the curtains at all times. There is a small mini - bar type fridge in the room but there was nothing in it. A tea and coffee tray is provided however. The breakfast service is best described as chaotic nor is there sufficient room for guests at peak times. Returning from the city at around 11:30pm we found the hotel bar closing down and when asked the staff would not open it for hotel residents and would only offer to send drinks to our room - not at all satisfactory. Parking is also an issue with limited and very expensive on street parking outside the hotel. The solution was to use the nearby NCP multistorey (5 mins walk) at £15 per 24 hours. This hotels big selling point is location and at an easy 10 minute walk to the North Bridge it is well placed. However I would need to see that the place had been refurbished extensively before I booked again.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the rear of the building on the third floor unless you like drivers and passers by looking directly into your room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unc-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Found out upon arrival that we had to pay upfront - beer a good start.
Room was fine but not amazing. Location great. Staff member on desk at entry was rude and abrupt. Bath tub is tiny. Toilet took all day to fill once flushed. Taps hanging off sink. Whole room and bathroom showing signs of lack of maintenance. Slept well - quiet place. Staff were extremely rude at breakfast. They could not handle people at breakfast - seemed strange they never had enough staff to look after us even when it's just a self serve continental. Not pleasant experience. More like a block of services apartments than a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven1984martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Gloomy and shabby. Four Stars - I don't think so. Facilities were clean but basic at best. Awful decor, long overdue for refurbishment. Breakfast is oversubscribed and the choice and quality of the cold/continental buffet is poor. Staff pleasant and location ok. Would not return.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank foodforthought65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews