We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Excellent rooms, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #127 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed October 10, 2008

I booked a single room with some trepidation having read reviews on here, then rang the hotel who absolutely reassured me that there was no reason to worry.

On arrival I was given a double, a nice large room. now I can understand why some people will find fault...the decor is dark and gothic. But I have to stay in so many Travelodge/Premier Inn type hotels that I love it when a hotel tries to be different.

I loved the decor.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean too. Yes the water was lukewarm for a shower but it was bearable.

The continental breakfast in the morning was beautiful, a great selection.

For the money, location and service this hotel is hard to beat, certainly for Edinburgh anyway. I will definately be booking again when I'm next in Edinburgh, which will be soon.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bradfordowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 824 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2008

This hotel is supposedly graded as a 4 star boutique hotel but in reality is nothing more than a poor 2 star B&B.

Having spent years working in the hospitality trade there were some absolute basics that the hotel could not even deliver. When we arrived our room was stone cold. Yes it was a cold night in Edinburgh however the windows in the room were left wide open, the heating was not on and when it eventually did come on only one radiator in the room worked. The first thing we did on arrival was get under the sheets for some warmth then actually left the room for a nearby pub to get some heat. Completely unacceptable.

Other things of note which shows the complete lack of attention to detail were 3 bulbs in the room which were out, blinds which hadn’t been cleaned in weeks and were dusty and the part for me which really demonstrates what this hotel is all about. The shower head was 5 feet above the bath. Yes it was a lovely looking shower but you can’t actually get under it and its fixed design meant you could not adjust it. Probably not a bad thing as the water from the shower was cold when, leaving my dignity behind me; I attempted to crouch under it anyway.

The water for the bath was luke warm, Yes you could have a bath but you just didn’t get the option to have it the temperature you wanted, unless of course this was to be colder. A recurring theme here.

All in all the hotel claims to be boutique and the decor can give off that impression however when they are unable to grasp the basic elements of providing you with a clean, warm room with warm water or a functioning shower, this hotel should stop trying to be pretentious and instead focus on delivering the basics required by guests for a comfortable stay

The only thing this hotel really had going for it was the location, however there are plenty of other hotels in the same area.

You should try them.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

This hotel suggests it is 4*...well, I have stayed at better basic camp sites with basic facilities!
The place is prehistoric!!!
The room was on the ground floor opposite the staircase, I was assured of a "Quiet" room....then spent the night having to listen to loud staff in the reception area next to my bed!
I complained and was moved. The following night I was next to a water tank that appeared to be leaking. The tv didnt work, the food was basic, and I would not stay there again EVER!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank justlooking4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Myself and two friends have just arrived home from The Albany Hotel Edinburgh. We booked a triple room with breakfast.On arrival we were met by a very nice gentleman who offered to take our cases to our room,which was to our surprise one of the nicest rooms that any of us had stayed in.The room was very large..One large kingsize bed and two singles.On the wall was a 32" flat screen television with satalite channels.The decor was very modern but very tastefully done.The bathroom was like you see in vogue magazines.Very classy with the bath situated in the middle with a vanity self and mirror on the long wall facing you with a small flat screen television.Also a very nice size shower unit in the corner. Everything you could have asked for was available. We are hoping to return again shortley for more than just two nights,as everyone was so helpful and friendly and the situation of the hotel was excellant for sightseeing and shopping. They are also in the middle of renovating the bar, which was closed,but plenty of restaurantsand bars close at hand.I hope this review will be off some help to others who are considering booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StirlingJinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

My husband and I chose this hotel for location and were hoping for a lovely experience, as it looked online. The hotel is well situated and is clean, but old and shabby - we had two days of rain and the ceiling leaked with cachepots located strategically through the premises to catch dripping water! Lobby and rooms are decorated in a very dark, depressing manner. Rooms are upstairs - we climbed to the fourth floor with heavy bags (no lift or assistance available), which was an ordeal. Not enough staff on hand. No hotpot in room. Fire alarm went off at 2:00AM due to malfunction and remained on for 1/2 hour. Parking is unavailable which is not correctly represented online. Breakfast is in the basement dining room and is sub-standard. We will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbsborr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed on the top floor even though we requested first floor rooms. There was no lift so we had to drag luggage up 4 stories and then up another story to the attic. It was ridiculous and there was no bellman either. Our room was small and hot at 80 degrees - even though it was in the 50's in Edinburgh at the time. Furthermore, the floors were so tilted that everything I set on my dresser slid right onto the floor. The location was ok and the breakfast was ok as well. Nothing to write home about...keep looking!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Just a quick note to say this is a great hotel. Hired the basic room at £90 per night with continental breakfast included. Hotel itself is an old town house situated on a quiet residential street. Room was very clean, spacious and had a fantastic shower. I spotted a few people complaining about the poor breakfast, ignore them just remember its a continental breakfast if you don't know what that is google it first before complaining. Otherwise great location short walk onto princes street and the bars on and around George street. Never used public transport once when we arrived it was that well situated to all the main attractions. Plus don't forget to try a deep fried mars bar on the way back to the hotel after a few jars :) Parking wise forget it, get the train. You need a permit to park on the street outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hiphopopotomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#134 of 151 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
349 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 151 in Edinburgh
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $79 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing