We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Milky” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #124 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Milky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The location of the hotel is almost cente in new town Edinburgh. It takes within 10minutes to old town, Edinburgh castle and Princess street.

The staff members of this hotel are friendly, but there are not mini- bar, fridge, and bath-tub in my booked room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Ikuo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    217
    153
    89
    95
See reviews for
59
362
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The Ballantrae Albany Hotel was "home away from home" for my husband and I during our first visit to Edinburgh recently.
Our room was lovely, but also, comfortable, spacious, and reasonably priced. Of course, a hotel is only as good as it's staff. Len McCarthy went above and beyond, to make our weeks stay a memorable one. The kind of personal service that inspires a return visit, and a voluntary "good word" from visitors who were truly made to feel like guests.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Macktrlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I bought a night at this hotel for my mum and her partners birthday at the weekend along with some gig tickets, this would have been their second stay at this hotel. Unfortunately the family dog had to be put to sleep before they set off for Edinburgh.

They called to cancel and asked about rescheduling they were informed no. I think their service was very insensitive around the circumstances and would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Having returned from our weekend in Edinburgh i felt the need to write a review..... i was shocked to see other reviews of this hotel!

We stayed in Rm 310 (The Honeymoon Suite), the room was large with high ceilings, very spacious and a massive bathroom..... we were very happy with the quality of the room and were very comfortable!

I suppose you get what you pay for!!!! we had a great night here

Room Tip: Honey Moon Suite (310) was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Our room was in the basement , I am not even sure an hotel that wants to be called so can have such rooms.
We had to cue to sit for breakfast (!!!) and even if breakfast was included in the price, we were told afterwords that coffe/cappuccino etc were not included in the price. So we EVEN HAS TO CUE FOR PAYING for the coffee.
Really poor service management.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gilauda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Very nice service. Received more than expected. Friendly staff were welcome and warm. Very clean rooms Coming soon again with friends. Good value

Would advice put some more dishes on menu of restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Cerkez K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for just 1 night. Honestly, it is a nightmare to find a parking lot during the week, at the weekend there are a few more, even for free, available. The room I stayed in was very small but clean, old fashion style. WiFi was available and working. Breakfast is just "continental", dont expect proper english breakfast. Close to the hotel are a few nice bars and clubs to get a pint, but the hotel bar is also a good choice. Overall rating I would say "Good".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#98 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing