We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best triple room we've seen!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #123 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best triple room we've seen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Every 6 months I meet up with a couple of my friends for a girlie weekend. We often struggle finding a triple room and often end up with a double and single bed. This hotel provided us with the best triple room we've every had. We booked the superior room (no 28) 1 double and 2 single beds and the room was so spacious, with really high ceilings. It made it a very comfortable stay. The location was great for good restaurants, bars and shops. George St is very close and Princes St is only a 10-15 min walk. The lady on reception was great. All 3 of us arrived at different times and she welcomed us all and passed on messages. All in all a great pick!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    222
    154
    90
    96
See reviews for
60
368
63
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The room was lovely but... The welcome book is just a long list of what you will be charged should you break/steal something, The bathrobes really need replaced the night porter does not like being interrupted when she is having her dinner ... There is no bar or restaurant in hotel so do not expect to be able to have a quiet drink when you get back to your room.

This is not a 4 star hotel. There are other better ones in same area for same price.

Room Tip: Best rooms would seem to be "executive"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulberry1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Fab location and lovely building.
Sam on reception was really helpful and made our stay all the better.
My top tip is to ask for a quiet room but the location is really good for walking everywhere central but yet we felt just enough out of the hustle of city centre to enjoy the best of both worlds

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at The Albany whilst visiting Edinburgh to see The Lion King at the near by Playhouse. This is the second time we've stayed here. Firstly I respect all previous reviews but I really don't understand why other peoples experience is so different! Customer service is top notch.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Len whom id spoken to on the phone whilst booking and I must say he was very welcoming, courteous, friendly but at the same time very professional! He booked us in very swiftly then showed us to our room offering to carry our bags for us! Showed us in to our room and asked if there was anything he could get us just to give him a call.

Our room was 310 which is the honeymoon suite and I must say the room was absolutely stunning! Lovely big bed and separate seating area in front of the tv! The room was spotless and very clean! Onto the best bit of this room it was the gorgeous freestanding bath perfect to relax in after a day shopping in Edinburgh!

Breakfast was continental and was a very good spread! There will be something for everyone's taste.

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and staff especially Len. I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone, location is great also. Me and my partner will be returning here. Don't be put off by previous reviews as our experience is completely opposite to those reviews!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Firstly the reception person, did not speak a word of English, so booking in took 57 mins
When I was shown the room it was not ready, well the sheets had not been changed and the carpet had some wet smelly thing going on.
Ok a bad night on a really old bed, but thought maybe breakfast would be better, well actually it was so bad I did not touch it , ok fried egg hard and burnt, bacon was chewy and mostly fat mushrooms from a can, which were the best part, the sausage was almost all grissle, must have been 24 for a £1
The staff were rude and ignorant , first time in my life I have complained, but this place was the pits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Linda, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Scotland and I knew my husband and I wanted to walk around Edinburgh and "soak in" the sites for 5 days. The Ballantrae Albany Hotel is situated in a really great location--close to everything--restaurants, bus, railway, the Castle (we walked to it and back). That being said, our room always felt a damp and cold, the water pressure really needed help (but I rinsed my hair in the tub using the faucet--just dealt with it), the furnishings and rug could use a good cleaning...but what the heck, we only slept there! We appreciated the fresh towels and friendly staff (Len is the best--he helped book a day tour for us and was always helpful). So, I'd say it was a 50/50 type of deal.

Room Tip: Ask for 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was booked as part of a package deal for family to visit Edinburgh and take in the Lion King Show, as a gift for a Golden wedding, where do we start, at check in they were advised there was no bar and no restaurant as the franchise had pulled out, onto the room and it was dated, carpets filthy and radiator in bathroom leaked all over the floor, unable to sleep as the location is very central and the windows do not keep out the street noise, breakfast was advertised as continental, and if you like tea and toast then yes it is continental, but nothing else was on offer as they had run out! Will never book this hotel again, a shame as it was booked for a special occasion and totally ruined by a 2 star standard. Why are they allowed to charged 4 star prices when they clearly are not

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BROOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#96 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#113 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Property: Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing