We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect for a weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ranked #123 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed May 6, 2011

had a wonderful stay as part of a hen weekend. The staff could not have been more helpful. The situation was perfect for visiting Edinburgh and very convenient for a wide range of bars and restaurants. We even managed to walk to the Botanic Gardens.
Highly recommend this hotel.
Karen S. Wales

Room Tip: ask
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen1475934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Ballantrae Albany Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 787 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel was of a good standard and a very good price. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice. The room was well appointed with only a few very minor scuffs. We travelled by train; the hotel's location was about ten minutes walk from Waverley Station. The staff were all helpful and pleasant. Contrary to what others have said we had plenty of hot water.
I would stay again.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank stbUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I booked this hotel for 30th birthday treat and wasn't impressed! I looked online at different rooms and decided the honeymoon suite with the tv over the bath was the room I wanted, I should have known when I called to book that the staff couldn't really give a toss but I gave them the benifit of the doubt! On arrival there was an unintrested male behind the desk who checked us in and we were told after paying for the room there was not enough change in the till so we would need to pick it up later, then after a long walk to our room we were breifly shown around and told if we needed anything to call reception, but we had no phone in the room and the man showing us to our room went to fetch one for us, but 2 days later iv still never seen a phone in sight! We then ran a bath and tryed to switch the tv on in our on suite but no power going to the tv, we then tryed to find an iron and there wasn't one of those either, the mini bar fridge door was hanging on one hinge as were the cabinate doors and also over our black carpet were long blonde hairs everywhere and Kirby grips lying on the floor under the dressing table. There were steaks over the mirrors and cup stains on the coffee table too, the room clearly hadn't been cleaned proparly or maintained for that matter, and after paying £150 for one night stay you can imagine why I was p@*#ed off! I asked about the tv ect at reception and was told it would be sorted when we were out at dinner but came back late and still nothing had changed, breakfast was avarage and the noise in the room from main street and other rooms kept us awake most of the night. Have stayed in many hotels but this has to be the overall worst if you want a great night stay at the glasshouse they couldn't have done more for us.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jani-ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We booked here on laterooms and paid 74 for the night in an executive double room. The hotel is about a 10 min walk from waverley station and a 15 min walk to the royal mile. The room was large And spacy and worth the spend. Breakfast was lovely and Inc in price of room. Overall a lovely stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caz2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Ours was a group of 21 ladies staying for a hen weekend. Our room was lovely, clean and had everything you need for a short stay e.g tea/coffee, flat screen tv and large bathroom. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help - they opened the bar early when we arrived, upgraded our breakfast to a full scottish (at no extra charge) and provided us with a lovely three course meal on our last day prior to traveling home. It is a short walk to the bars, restaurants and sights of Edinburgh. I would recommend a bus tour, drinks at the Grassmarket and food at the Vittoria restaraunt. We booked with cheap rates as the hotel was being refurbished but I would say the hotel is worth what it normally charges. Overall, very happy!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed here for two nights as part of my daughters hen party weekend. The welcome, service, lovely rooms... comfy beds. The exceptional food and room service at 2am were just superb. The value for money was excellent.

Room Tip: Near everything you need. Lovely staff .
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rowell186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed here as part of a group in Easter Bank Holiday Weekend. The hotel is very centrally positioned in Edinburgh, so within walking disctance of all attractions. The Hotel decor was very tasteful and in keeping with the Georgian theme, rooms were very comfortable, clean and well equipped. the staff were amazing! They were so accommodating in every way and the food was superb.
I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallybWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
527 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
333 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39-47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $87 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing