We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Just wanted to compliment the staff, particularly Morag and William at the front desk -- but everyone, actually -- for their kind attention.Service discreet but efficient. It's a great base in Edinburgh -- close to nice shops in the New Town and 20 minutes' to the castle. Nice breakfasts too. Good restaurants closeby. Would recommend Stac Polly on Dublin Street around the corner for excellent Scottish food (try the Haggis parcels in plum sauce), and La Rusticana on Hanover Street for no-nonsense pizza and pasta

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Infantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 936 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is old with a lot of old fictures etc but very charming and clean. It had a lot of character. Our room was huge with a big comfortable bed. The only complaint was that the TV was old and small but we were not in Scotland to watch TV anyway. The staff was helpful and courteous. We were able to walk every where from this location. They were filming a movie at the hotel 2 days that we were there and Princess Anne was there one night for a function of some kind but we were never disturbed by noise or made to feel "in the way". Would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aanla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

This is the second time I've reviewed this, and one year on it is still as good as the first time.

This time the room was only £95. The room was at the front this time. This has the advantage that you overlook Queen St gardens, but the disadvantage that it is a lot noisier than rooms at the back.

Service and breakfast remain excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Large spacious rooms with big beds. A taste of old world charm and character. Good location within 5 minutes walk of main shops on Princess Street. Tasty breakfast as well. For the money £100/night you can't beat it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalsaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Well situated in the centre of Edinburgh, 10 minutes walk from the station. The staff were helpful and we were upgraded free of charge to a room with a four-poster bed on our arrival. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and chaise-lounge and view that over looked a park. Low speed wi-fi was available and this made an excellent base to explore the city.

As this hotel is adjoined to the Royal Scots Club my fiancee didn't feel entirely comfortable with the gentlemen's club atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonPeligro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

I booked the Royal Scots Club for a Halloween break and was really pleased with the price, especially when compared with the accommodation deals in larger hotels along Prince's Street.
On arrival we were upgraded to a four poster bed room, and although we had a bit of a climb up the stairs, the room was comfortable and pleasant to spend time in. The hotel was really convenient for both the New Town and Prince's Street but also quiet at night. Ladies, one note - this is a gentlemen's club and as such the soap/shampoo provided are slightly 'unfeminine' in smell!
Breakfasts were fine and we did feel uncomfortable with the dress code in public areas - overall I enjoyed the idea of something different with a sense of history.
The Club was pleasantly busy at night with meetings/parties, and we had a lovely sense of being away from the tourist trail (without disturbing noise).
I would recommend this as a place to stay if you do not mind walking a bit and would like something different...

1  Thank SBamberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Good location , over the hill from Princes Street .....though this hill is a bit steep for a short while and would be tricky for people with walking problems. Whole hotel is spotlessly clean and furnished in quite a grand and traditional style. Fabulous soft white , large bathroom towels , Molten Brown shower and hair "stuff" and a superb power shower. On the down side , the Scottish breakfast is poor with very bland sausages, bacon and black pudding . A better alternative is to order 2 poached eggs with smoked salmon and wholemeal brown toast. William at reception was utterly charming and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,040 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Address: 29-31 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $70 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing