We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #18 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bremen, Germany
1 review
“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Royal Scots Club was the ideal setting for our wedding. Set right in the heart of Edinburgh, it is comparatively unbothered either by traffic or crowds. The standards of service, catering, and planning are excellent. The wedding co-ordinator, Ayesha, is unfailingly courteous, professional, and well-informed. The food, both for the main wedding breakfast and for the evening buffet we ordered, was delicious. We were served quickly and unobtrusively, and the staff did a wonderful job of arranging everything. The price was very good for the size of wedding we wanted, especially when compared to some of the very pricey options out there. In all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Club to anybody. Those guests who stayed at the Club say that it was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew28211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    242
    49
    17
    12
See reviews for
135
377
37
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently got married at the Royal Scots Club and many of our guests stayed at the hotel (including us of course). From beginning to end we had a fantastic experience. The hotel is one of Edinburgh's best kept secrets (but we think more people should know about it!). The central location is one of its first selling points. Just 5 minutes from George St and with beautiful views of Queen Street Gardens, the hotel is extremely convenient. From the outside, the building is charming and when you enter it is somewhat of a tardis! It has so many different aspects and you discover more and more each time you visit. There are many charming aspects of the hotel from the comfortable lounge and stunning library to the elegant dinning room and other function rooms. We got married in the Douglas Suite which is has an understated elegance with stunning views of the gardens. The staff are very friendly and the food and accommodation is some of the best we've experienced (and we are v fussy!). The food is great quality and they take pride in sourcing local produce (at the wedding it didn't feel mass produced which is so often the case at weddings). We saw several rooms and they all seemed to be of exceptional quality (and all very individual unlike some hotels where they all feel very uniform). We were in one of the two four poster rooms and felt very special indeed - you get a sense of history from the bedrooms (although they are not at all stuffy). What was most surprising was the excellent value. We feel that for what we got (a unique high quality experience) the cost was very reasonable. We'd certainly recommend the Royal Scots Club - for dining, accommodation and of course for weddings or other occasions. The events team are also very efficient and genuine (one of the things that drew us to choosing this as a wedding venue was just how 'real' the staff were - friendly, efficient, but also v genuine). Seriously - we just really can't recommend the RSC more!!!

Room Tip: Many of our guests stayed at the RSC and we didn't hear anything bad so don't know what to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annielou74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is fine. Everything was clean, the room was really spacious, the people working there seemed friendly, but the price is quite high for what you get. It's also kind of odd ... there was a sign asking that we respect the dress code in the dining room (jacket and tie - at breakfast?). It's like the place was once fashionable, but someone forgot to tell them that time has passed. It's a bit of a time warp and needs some modernization or at least some repairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bk_in_chgo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After a last minute decision to visit Edinburgh, I found this hotel for a reasonable price on a comparison website. I stayed here with a friend and we were both impressed with the quality of the room and especially the bathroom!
The hotel is only a short walk from Waverley Station and Princes Street. We stayed in an executive double on a lower level. It was spacious and benefited from the natural light of the window despite being on a basement level. The room had a large widescreen television, robes and slippers, and complementary hot drinks. The hot chocolate was divine!
The bathroom was well stocked with Molton Brown toiletries and had a large bath which was perfect for relaxing in after a rainy day walking around Edinburgh. There was a separate shower enclosure and a large sink with overhead mirror.
Hotel staff were friendly and did everything they could to ensure we had a great stay. They offered wake up calls and even delivered the morning paper to the room.
I'd definitely recommend the Royal Scots Club for anyone staying in Edinburgh and this will be my first choice of hotel if I return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is situated in an excellent part of Edinburgh - only a short walk to the shops, art galleries aand restaurants. It also represents excellent value and I will be staying again. It is tastefully decorated and the staff are both efficient and welcoming. Breakfasts delicious. The bedrooms at the rear are very quiet and overlook the Firth of Forth in the distance. Beds are comfortable and the hotel is warm and decorated tastefull reflecting the history of the Royal Scots. Superb for a stay in Edinburgh. £5.35 taxi fare from the Waverley railway station with most of the lights at green!

Room Tip: Bedrooms at the back are very quiet - no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Visited Edinburgh for a family break in February found the Royal Scots Club in Superbreaks.What a fabulous place and we are very picky about where we stay.The rooms and the bathroom were immaculate and very nicely decorated.The dinning room had a charming and classy feeel about.Can only comment on breakfast as we decided to eat out on an evening to explore the city.Plenty of choice for breakfast and all of high quality.The lounge area had a very relaxed and chilled atmosphere.Alan the night manager was welcomming and offered a freindly service.The location is ideally situated to acess the town and a ten minute walk to the train station.Highly reccomend this stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night in February as 2 couples, booked separately but luckily were given rooms right next door and infact the only rooms on the floor - 17 & 19 (we never did find room 18). We booked on the day through the hoteltonight app and the rooms were about £70 each, however we paid less as we had vouchers. Considering the last minute booking and cheap price we were expecting substandard rooms but were pleasantly surprised! Rooms were very spacious, modern, clean and huge beds. Bathrooms were modern and clean and the tea/coffee/hot chocolate, bottled water and shortbread was lovely. Location was perfect, a 5 minute walk from Princes Street, very handy! My only complaints would be that as our rooms were on one of the basement floors they looked out onto an alleyway, and that the night porter was extremely unhelpful and couldn't answer any of our questions. All in all it was a pleasant stay but I wouldn't have paid full price!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianC94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Property: The Royal Scots Club
Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing