We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely surprise but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #18 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, County Durham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2-day break to Edinburgh staying at The Royal Scots Club. Given this was our first trip to Edinburgh the ease with which we found Abercromby Place (from Waverley Railway Station) bode well. For us, the location just off the main "hub area" was ideal, a gentle stroll each day, perfect!
The Royal Scots Club itself, is very well appointed, with a "hotel feel upon arrival" The history of the regiment a bonus to a military buff.
Breakfast was important, given the amount of sightseeing we do and this aspect certainly did not disappoint. A full Scottish breakfast just the thing but there were adequate alternative options for those of a lighter breakfast variety (fresh orange juice a delight)
The Room, was much larger than I expected but given this beautiful Georgian building should not have been a surprise. We stayed in Room 25, which was on the basement level (slightly lower than street level), beautifully appointed bathroom & toilet, larger than average size television, tea & coffee making facilities, shortbreasd biscuits & highland water.
So here is the but...
The wheelie bins are just outside this room, so you get the bottles being deposited on a night, the dustbins being emptied on a morning and the staff coming on a morning down the metal staircase..so noise was an issue I'm afraid, but nothing that stopped our enjoyment of this superbreak, a watch word for those to follow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGDARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    233
    48
    17
    12
See reviews for
127
370
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel as part of a business trip. What a pleasure. The staff are friendly and helpfull. The hotel has old world charm with out being stuffy. The room was large, comfortable, classic and spotless with beautiful views over the park. The bed was comfortable with perfect white linen. The touch of hotchocolate and shortbread with the tea and coffee tray was appreciated. Lovely warm bathroom with a deep bath and roomy shower with fluffy bathrobe in the cupboard. Dinner in my room was tasty and in good time. Breakfast in the morning in the dining room was perfect, and what a pretty room to eat in.
Over all a lovely stay and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast and reception all at The Royal Scots Club and it was first class. On the day the general manager was very helpful, and the events organiser was great in the months leading up to the actual day. The Hepburn Suite is a beautiful place for a wedding and being able to use the library for drinks and greeting guests is ideal. The food provided at the wedding breakfast was excellent, and I was very pleased with the waiters and waitresses too. Our room was great too. Overall, the venue suited us perfectly, we didn't really have any complaints at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Scots for 3 nights to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. I made the booking over the phone and had asked for flowers and champagne to be placed in the room and I wasn't disappointed, the staff had made an excellent choice on my behalf! We stayed in room 16 which is a grand room with four poster bed offering some views. The room was comfortable and cosy with a clean on suite bathroom. The building is a very interesting place full of trophies and historical regimental regalia. It was a treat just to potter around the hotel browsing the various rooms. Breakfast was a delight with a varied menu and continental buffet. Overall a very pleasant stay with the sights and sounds of Edinburgh on your doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and had our wedding breakfast here, It was an excellent time, everything went to expectations plus more, Staff are very helpful and friendly, food is top standard and every where is very clean.

Room Tip: the romantic four poster bed is an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed only our last night here and three adults shared a room to make a VERY early flight, leaving the hotel at 4:15. They gave us a 3:45 wake-up call and had a cab waiting for us. We had spent our time in Old Town and the Royal Mile the first part of the trip some walked around the New Town neighborhood for our last night. Royal Scots Club recommended several pubs and we found Kay's Bar, which is a lovely pub within an easy walk of the hotel. Nice place to spend an evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We decided to stay here on our Scottish trip as we are members of another club that offers reciprocal membership with the Royal Scots Club. It is also open to non-club members It is located just several blocks from midtown and Waverly Station in New Town. There are a number of nice restaurants within easy walking distance. When we first arrived, we took a cab because it was dark and we didn't know exactly how far the club was and didn't want to lug our own bags.
The club itself is comfortable but still is in early-mid 20th century men's club style with heavy furniture and dark colors. The Georgian building is showing some age around the edges but they have recently installed a modern elevator.
Pros: 1 Location easy access to bus/train terminals, yet on a quite street across from park
2. Elegance
Cons:
1. Slightly tired furnishing/atmoshere

Would we stay here again? Probably would although I would bring a coat and tie so that I could enjoy the reciprocal club privileges . I would also have to check out prices of nearby standard hotels to determine if it is a good deal or not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Property: The Royal Scots Club
Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing