We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, quirky and highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delightful, quirky and highly recommended”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Royal Scots Club is a lovely, decadent old hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Bedecked with regimental portraits, royal pictures and antiques, it makes a delightful change from staying in chain hotels. Food was good and service was excellent, the receptionist remembered everyone's room numbers as she distributed keys and was a mine of information about local shops and restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a room at the back, away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    247
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
138
391
38
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a short break and loved it. The room we stayed in had a four poster bed and was very comfortable with period features and furniture. The bar downstairs is straight out of a military Sergeants or Officers Mess, which isn't surprising considering the place was built for the Royal Scots, 1st Regiment of Foot. There are interesting military photographs and artefacts and the dining area is very nice and serves a good breakfast. Some parts of the hotel appear a little tired and slightly faded, however that is to be expected when much of the interior was designed for a military club. It is ideally placed for getting to the tourist attractions and George street, with the wonderful "The Dome" bar is just a short walk away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone after a reasonably priced and convenient place to stay in Edinburgh. My wife and I are definitely returning there soon.

Room Tip: Go for room 16. It's very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sadly The Royal Scots Club has no idea how to run a hotel.

It is clearly relying on its reputation as a smart club to get business, but has no idea how to offer decent service to the average hotel punter. I think probably its old fashioned male clientele might find this acceptable but no one paying the prices they are charging and used to reasonably comfortable hotels would agree.

My daughter and I were on the whole treated as a tiresome nuisance by the staff (bar the cheery maintenance chaps who fixed our window EVERY night). The breakfast staff were either sullen or shouted at us. We were ignored in the dining room and often there were no staff at all when we arrived for breakfast as they were crashing about in the kitchen. The reception was often unmanned and on one occasion after waiting 15 minutes for attention, I went round the back of the desk (as anybody from the street could have done) and helped myself to my key whilst the staff member who should have been sitting there was doubling up as the bar attendant and serving a large party. The reception staff were either abrupt to the point of being very rude or young, willing, but undertrained and couldn't answer the majority of my questions.

We were moved into a different room 4 times in 4 days due to toilets/windows not working and this was done with little apology and we moved our suitcases ourselves. The decoration is very dated and rather battered and the cleaning left a lot to be desired.

I have rarely felt less welcome in a hotel. The Royal Scots Club needs to decide whether it is an old fashioned club for ancient military gentlemen who are used to very basic domestic needs or if it is going to offer the hotel service that it is charging for.

Oh and whilst I think of it diplomacy not their strong point. Every morning I sat at breakfast, which was fine, but nothing exceptional, looking at a large oil painting of the Germans surrendering in the second world war whilst several German speaking guests sat in the dining room around me.

Also it should be noted that breakfast finishes at 9.00am (another military hang up I fear) which for most of us visiting for the festival who were getting back from shows at 1.00am sometimes was totally unacceptable.

A new manager required I think who has actually had experience running a successful hotel in the commercial sector.

Stay anywhere but here when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSC_GM, General Manager at The Royal Scots Club, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay.
We really appreciate all feedback given as it can only help us improve our levels of service.
Many of our overnight guests and members, as you can see from other reviews, think very highly of the club and we can only apologise that this wasn't your experience.
I am saddened that you felt unable to approach a member of our management who undoubtedly would have been more than capable of resolving any complications during your time with us.
The reception team moved you to try and accommodate your needs and I am sorry you felt this was not the case.
All of our staff are trained to the highest standard; indeed the most frequent comments we receive are regarding the professionalism and friendliness of our team, whether in the dining room, bar, housekeeping or reception.
We are a military club that welcomes members and non-members alike, of all nationalities. The club’s history is steeped in tradition and many guests find this interesting and is why many regularly return.
I am currently dealing with your travel agent with a view to resolving the situation to everyone’s satisfaction.

Regards RSC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fabulous city centre location for wedding venue, showing off Edinburgh and what an amazing, vibrant city it is. Great for guests to be able to walk up to George Street and visit historic sites in a matter of minutes. Also was great to have access to Gardens for wedding photographs. We held our wedding on 3rd of August and staff including Ayesha the wonderfully helpful wedding coordinator and Duty Managers went out their way to make our day extra special. The Princess Royal suite was perfect size for our wedding party, the food and wine excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend to those who want a city centre wedding to remember!Thank you again RSC, all your efforts were noticed and very much appreciated. P & JJ

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanworth in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had to book at fairly late notice to get a room during the festival. We expected a premium rate but £256 for a room downstairs that was barely 3 star quality seemed more than a little steep. You don't pay too much more for the Gleneagles Hotel. It was a shame, because the place has a lot of character, the breakfast/dining area is nice and the location is great. The fact remains though, that if this hotel wants to charge 4 and 5 star rates then it has to provide the quality of accommodation that goes with these rates.

Martin Cumella Warwickshire

Room Tip: We only saw the room which we had, which was on the lower ground floor and should be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin504205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vologda, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We used the Royal Scot Club at the end of July 2013 to hold our wedding celebrations and it was a great success. Throughout the months of planning the Conference & Event Co-ordinator Ayesha Longley was on hand to assist, advice and support with all the fine details which in turn made it such a memorable day for my wife, friends & family. The setting is traditional and Scottish with great rooms food and service. Thank You and your team Ayesha for an unforgettable day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

There are a variety of rooms here - does feel a bit like you have gone back in time, Princess Anne has visited, says it all! On my first visit I was put in the annex out the back of the hotel - had to go to the basement and pass a vaulted ceilinged room - very spooky, but found myself in an 80's style room on the ground floor. I've never had breakfast here but have stayed in also the older part of the building at the front of the hotel - which had an amazing view and was very comfortable - if you do stay here - make sure you are in the main body of the hotel - well worth it - if nothing more but for the gorgeous view over the gardens in front.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Property: The Royal Scots Club
Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing