We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for Wedding!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently had my wedding at the Royal Scots Club and it was the best decision ever made! The staff were the friendliest and very professional making the occasion all the more special. From the planning stages to my big day everything was handled with ease by the Events team and there was no fuss about anything. The marriage ceremony was held in the beautiful Hepburn Suite which was perfect with champagne and canapes in the lobby. Later we had our wedding breakfast and evening reception in the Princess Royal Suite. Guests thoroughly enjoyed their meal and were very impressed with the service. The bridal suite was very spacious and comfortable with its huge four-poster bed. I could not find one fault with this venue and would highly recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 917 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Spent 2 wonderful nights at the Royal Scots Club for our wedding. We chose the hotel as our wedding venue and it was perfect. The staff balanced professionalism and friendliness seamlessly and made our wedding day glide along without a hitch. We had our wedding and wedding breakfast in ‘The Douglas Room’, ‘The Library’ was the ideal setting for bubbly and canapés and ‘The Princess Royal Suite’ was spot in for our evening celebration. Bedroom was spacious and comfy and the food was lovely…. Id highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this charming hotel. Good service, good location and friendly staff. Princess Street is just a short walk away. Our room was facing a private garden that provided a lovely view. We were very pleasantly surprised by the standards.Would be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A real piece of Scotish History in a Georgian Terrace well located in Newtown, the Royal Scots Club provides excellent accommodation, meals, lounges and meeting rooms and exceptional value. Furthermore you are welcomed personally and enjoy a very different experience to stating in a hotel. I would never stay anywhere else in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in the hotel to attend a local function and enjoy the city. The hotel was very well located for all of Edinburgh's sites, handy but just far enough away to be quiet (it faces a small private park). The interior is very much a "military officer 's club" and has a great deal of character. We had a superior room overlooking the park and the quality of the room and facilities were excellent - easily as good as any four/five star hotel I have used in the past. Food was very good and service from the friendly staff was excellent. I could find very little to fault here, apart from perhaps parking facilities - which are limited to street meter parking, although there is a large multi-storey within easy walking distance. Anyone wishing to visit the city could do worse than try this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ijallen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

First the good points...
1) If you want to be close to the center of Edinburgh this is a great location in a nice area.
2) The four poster room was spacious.

Unfortunately there are many bad points...
1) The staff are uninformed about simple things such as the parking in the front of the hotel.
2) The first thing I had to do was ask the reception to have the pubic hair from the previous occupant cleaned out of the bidet and to clean the toilet and sink. Even after it was done I still wouldn't call it clean.
3) The heating in the room is on a timer controlled by the reception, I had to ask for it to be turned on twice (it was cold again by morning).
4) Still using old style keys so if you don't lock your door when you enter the room then anyone can just walk in (and yes someone did try).
5) The bar is very expensive and if you are planning on having an evening meal in the hotel then take a shirt and tie as there is a dress code!
6) I understand that the place is also a private club but seeing as one night in the hotel costs the same as six months worth of club membership, I would expect to be treated at least as important as the members and not looked down upon, lets face it they wouldn't be able to pay for their club if it wasn't for the hotel guests!

Do yourself a favor and give this place a miss.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulFurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here in a gorgeous room with four poster bed, fireplace, and large pace filled with wonderful decorations. Location is well within walking distance to all major attractions along with train station, bus stops, and taxi stands. Most rooms include breakfast, which is quite nice. Very good climate control and all the luxuries you could want for the price. The building itself is rich in history and well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Room 16 is the best room for a couple on a romantic occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,311 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,921 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Address: 29-31 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $75 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing