We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with my wife saturday 16th February, check in swift & friendly rooms large bright & very clean.Building itself lovley with a fantastic atmosphere. Only small complaint would be road noise might affect the lightest of sleepers. Breakfast in the morning was a little slow but was worth the wait when it arrived.I would have no hessation of staying in this establishment in the future.

Room Tip: road noise an issue if room facing the entrance to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 968 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel as a treat for my hubbys 's birthday/valentines. Check in was swift and friendly. Our room was upstairs and was very clean and fresh. Got a bit of road noise but that's to be expected in a busy city. Walls are thin, could hear talking and crying baby. This would not stop me staying here again though. Breakfast was very good. Overall, for what we paid it was worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineManderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A great comforting old-fashioned club with nice rooms and even better staff! I got in late, and the receptionist even recommended where to eat, and what to do, how to get around and get to know the city! (And along with other tips about travelling around Europe as she was a traveller too!)
While breakfast service was slightly slow, the food was great - eat till you drop - and the staff was also very helpful when I needed to leave early the last day! Love the place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpyk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay here over the new year break. Very friendly staff who were happy to assist with anything and everything. The breakfast (included) was fantastic - full Scottish breakfast (veggie option available) was delicious.

Clean spacious rooms that were soundproof and heated fine.

Is a bit of a walk up and down a big hill to Princes street - but still very close.

Would definitely stay here again if we came back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a lovely old-fashioned club with nicely appointed rooms and the best showers I have EVER come across in ANY hotel anywhere.
The two ladies on reception are charming, once you get through their rather military approach to things, and the breakfasts are great - though the service is a bit slow and you have to be persistent about what you want if they are not busy...
Positioned 5 minutes from George Street, 10 mins from Princes Street and in the "New Town" (built 1750-1850). A delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Having read several reviews about this hotel, we were a little concerned about the location as some we had read were not complimentary about the staff or hotel. On arrival we were welcomed by Natalie on reception who was polite, helpful and courteous. All of the bar staff, waiting staff and housekeeping staff were exactly the same.

The hotel was warm, clean and although we were in the "budget" rooms, found them to be comfortable and clean. All be it, these rooms do not have the best views, at the end of the day we had come to see Edinburgh and the rooms were sufficient.

Breakfast provided a good choice and was served piping hot and by efficient staff. We had snacks in the bar on one lunch time which were of good quality and fairly priced.

All in all, the trip was a success and I would definitely go back to the Royal Scots Club if in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is well located and fairly priced for a major city centre location. The public rooms are comfortable and the staff are particularly helpful. The bedrooms - or at least the one I used - was starting to look a bit dated, with slightly tired looking furniture. However, the bed was very comfortable indeed, and the bathroom was well equipped.
Parking, as in most of the centre of Edinburgh, is a bit of a problem, so ask for advice or take the train.
One issue - whilst checking the location of the fire exits (necessary as the hotel can be a bit of a maze) it was almost impossible to find a direct route back to the bedroom!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireGenealogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,006 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Address: 29-31 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $69 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing