We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK room bed not comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Scots Club
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Room was ok but the bed was uncomfortable I would have would have thought it would be better for £140 per night. Over prices as usual for the UK

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frosty5874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 934 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

quite a different approach here - it is the club of the Royal Scots Regiment, but open as a hotel, which makes it interesting and different from the reguar hotel. You are required to wear a jacket in the dining room and no jeans, so a nod to old formalities. But i was offered a very warm welcome, especially by the two waitresses in the dining room - sisters in fact, who were friendly and helpful. It was otherwise a pretty staid experience. The room was well appointed, located in a quet part of the hotel and was spotless and breakfast was typical hotel fare. It is conveniently located and i would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for one at the top of the house - i think I stayed in no6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liege-Bastogne-Liege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Have stayed here for a few years, when rooms are available. Polite staff, most rooms 4 star and well appointed. Have recently installed a lift, which is why I now can write this review...........beautiful staircase, but killer steps. Eaten in restaurant once, a few years ago and disappoining, apart from that, I have always enjoyed this Hotel, more so, than the larger more upmarket hotels.
The Royal Scots Club is in fact a club, but rooms available to non members, and there is only one room (members lounge) not open to the public. The property has the feeling, and quality of decor, of one of the larger London clubs, without the stuffiness. Simply brilliant.

Room Tip: Used to be a couple of rooms below street level, but might have been removed in recent building work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank printswilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Although we only stayed for a night we were very impressed by the Royal Scots Club. The staff were professional & friendly & the room was huge & comfortably 'old fashioned'. Four poster bed & en suite bathroom spotlessly clean.

Superb breakfast in a lovely dining room overlooking Queen St Gardens - couldn't ask for a better location. Highly recommeded - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Not the height of luxury but superbly 'grand'. Ours was a tad 'tired' but spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reuben31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay here, we got the last rooms and although it is slightly old fashioned, that only adds to its charm. The rooms are en suite which is a necessity, I believe these days. The staff were friendly and courteous and the breakfast was excellent. It is very handy for all the attractions of the city and I would thoroughly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great atmosphere with traditional charm. Friendly staff and good food. Comfortable bed and spacious accommodation. Loved it. Will return

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

First stay at club at a very reasonable rate comared to equivalent Edinburgh centre accommodation. It was also the venue for a conference event I was attending the next day. I did not eat in or use the bar in the evening, so not sure how busy they get. Room was very comfortable and quiet, even for facing the street. Breakfast was the best I have had for a long while, and so nice to be served something fresh rather than scrape congealed pre cooked food off a self service buffet. There is an inevitable decor of military patriotism that has to be accepted, but adds to the sense of comfort and luxury. If anyone found this offensive it would not be the place for them.
Less succesful as a conference venue due to the warren of steps and rather unco-ordinated buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartonhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,035 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Address: 29-31 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $73 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing