We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attraction in Edinburgh that is still quite nice to visit”

Real Mary King's Close
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.22*
and up
The Real Mary King's Close Underground Guided Tour
Ranked #18 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hidden beneath the Royal Mile lies Edinburgh’s deepest secret: a warren of hidden ‘closes’ where real people lived, worked and died. For centuries they have lain forgotten and abandoned…until now. Visit Edinburgh's most famous Close, which makes Edinburgh's Hidden History unmissable.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great attraction in Edinburgh that is still quite nice to visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this place a few times in my life: 2006, 2008 and again this year. It stays impressive to see the house under the Mary King's Close office, yet I also noticed it is getting quite commercialised. They used to be very good in storytelling, yet the experience now gets interrupted with referals to audio tours (numbers per room) and an opportunity to take a picture (like on a rollercoaster?) that you can buy later. Those things annoyed me a bit and disrubted my experience of walking around in the unique environment. lets not hope it will get even worse, yet still a 3 out of 5 since the location is still impressive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrewerM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at Real Mary King's Close, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Real Mary King's Close. Our guides work hard to tell the stories of the real people who once worked, lived and died on the closes during our 1 hour tours. Many of our visitors do not have English as their first language and so use the audio guides (which are provided free of charge) to fully understand the tour. This should not interrupt your experience and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,692
    2,891
    1,034
    414
    230
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fascinating glimpse at history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

No need to get tickets online. Tickets are readily available at the site of the attraction. This was a glimpse into the hard life of the poorer classes of people living in Edinburgh in the past centuries. If you will be in Edinburgh for a few days, get your tickets a day ahead of time. The tour times are very specific and the groups are small enough to accommodate questions as you go along.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thank you Emily for a truly wonderful tour around Mary Kings Close. Emily was so informative and passionate was the best part of our first full day in Edinburgh. Emily's passion has rubbed off and we spent the evening afterwards walking down the Royal mile seeing what we could spot! An absolute must see in Edinburgh :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SineadWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at Real Mary King's Close, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for recommending us so highly. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed experiencing Edinburgh's history. We will pass on your kind comments to Emily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very interesting tour of the old city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Take this tour if you want to know more about the old city of Edinburgh and how the people used to live in the now burried town. The tour is interactive, the guide tells stories with characters that truly existed. There is also a little ghost story. What seemed interesting was a room that was found haunted by a japanese psychic. The ghost is of a little girl left there by her parents. The room is full of toys brought by people as a gift to make her spirit less lonely. So bring a toy with you if you want.
In the end you visit the close, which is rather steep and narrow, and you can see some of the old houses windows and doors to make a picture of how they looked like in the old times. You cant photograph, but your picture is taken, you can buy it for 6 pounds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlinaIoanaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked to go on this tour the day before so we were guaranteed a slot as it does get very booked up.
We were not disappointed.
Our tour guide Catherine was very witty and full of knowledge of the history of the close, she made the tour very enjoyable.
We will love to go on this tour again on our next visit to Edinburgh.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsShepherd28082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at Real Mary King's Close, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
What a great review, thank you. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your tour and that you will return on your next visit to Edinburgh. We will pass on your kind comments to Catherine and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Mary King's Close also viewed

 

Been to Real Mary King's Close? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing