We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House, Ideally Located and Value for Money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MacIntosh Guest House
Ranked #295 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the Guest House for two nights and was impressed. Very clean rooms, ensuite facilities and Wi-Fi. Location is perfect for the zoo as directly opposite, murrayfield is approx a twenty min walk away and there are plenty of buses opposite to take you into the city centre.
The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We would definetly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateEsk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Idealy placed, between city centre and airport (12 min Bus drive each way) - neat rooms, good breakfast - very friendly. recommandable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Singlemalt-Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Oh, such a dull and ordinary B&B, which I suppose is all one can expect for the price we paid. The manager made it clear that we'd inconvenienced her by arriving "late" (even though it was only about 7.30). The breakfast was completely tasteless. On the good side, there is free parking outside and a frequent bus service into the centre, which makes it a very practical option. An example of getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fudge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

As someone who spent 11 months staying at this B&B I feel well qualified to submit a review :-)

This is a very good value B&B which is located approximately 10-15mins from the city centre (directly opposite the zoo). The rooms are spotlessly clean and very quiet considering the B&B is located on quite a busy road. I never failed to get a good nights sleep. There are plenty of buses which stop right outside and go either into the city (good for tourists) or head in the opposite direction towards Edinburgh Park (good for business people).

Joanne is an excellent host who will take care of your every need, be it an early breakfast, iron, directions to somewhere etc.

Overall I cannot recommend this great value B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brumjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Unfortunately we could spend only 2 nights at this guest house. The room was simple but spacious and so was the en-suite. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as free wi-fi internet.
The hostess, Joanne, and her husband were really kind and helpful. Joanne also provided us a light breakfast in room as we had to leave very early in the morning.
The price is very reasonable compared to other guest houses in the area, and it includes an excellent cooked breakfast as well as a good buffet of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, milk and juices.
The location is great, directly opposite the zoo. Various buses to the city centre and the airlink stop just in front of the guest house.
If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced accommodation in Edinburgh, check for MacIntosh guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloodyvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer sind fast alle nach hinten raus gelegen und sehr sehr ruhig. Auch das eine nach vorne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejor las habitaciones que no tienen vistas al Zoo, porque es por donde pasa la carretera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Xente_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,051 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,642 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,088 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacIntosh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacIntosh Guest House

Address: 21 Downie Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 7AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:2 star — MacIntosh Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will receive a very warm welcome at MacIntosh Guest House. Your hostess also speaks native Mandarin and Cantonese.We have five ensuite bedrooms with TV. Enjoy our full cooked breakfast.We are located opposite Edinburgh Zoo and you can view the splendid Zoo Gardens from our restaurant.Airport buses stop outside. We are close to the world famous Murrayfield Rugby Stadium and a short distance to the City Centre and Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MacIntosh Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing