We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Ranked #45 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent three very comfortable nights at Emmaus House ...... spacious room (no. 3), with twin beds and ensuite; delicious meals, central location and – most important – the convivial company of Janet, Jonathan and friends. The reviews on this page are testament to their gift of hospitality. As others have said, there is the opportunity to reflect/meditate in the chapel or relax in the communal kitchen and well-stocked library-sitting room.

Room Tip: Would recommend room no.3, at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
33
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for 4 weeks and paid around 500 quid which is quite reasonable. It's actually a Christian Retreat Centre. I would like to thank Andrew and Jane for all their help. They serve a continental breakfast and other cereals, toast and fruits which is free.

Room Tip: The ensuite room on the 1st floor is quite nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baruch_Hashem613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was recommended this residence by a Priest friend of mine. His opinion of the place was, in my opinion, Spot-On. I took a bus (100) from Edinburgh Airport to Waverly Station. From Princes St, which runs above Waverly Station on a map, I took a #10 to Gilmore Place. From the bus stop(Lochrin Bldgs), the sign for Emmaus House can be seen easily. I was warmly welcomed by Jonathan a member of the team at Emmaus House. The rest of the team. Janet, Andrew & Andrew I met later. I found them all very friendly. Even though this is a religious house as stated on their website, at no time was I made to feel I had to join in their morning or evening prayers. I did how ever join in as I found the wooden chapel in the back garden a most delightful place, warm even though it was cold & wet outside. Getting in to the city, is very easy as both the #27 & #10 bus routes operated by Lothian buses pass right outside. I spent 4 nights there, and as far as I am concerned I got excellent value for my money. A similar length stay in a hotel or another Bed & Breakfast would have cost me a LOT more as I would have had to A).Spend more than the £35 per night for my en-suite room and B). Spend more than the £7.50 my evening meal cost me eating out every night.

Room Tip: If you are a Mum & Dad with 2 kids, or 4 singles travelling together, the room I had at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My mother, my two sisters and I stayed at Emmaus house the last week of October, 2013. I can not tell you how wonderful our stay was... But I'll try! The house is beautiful. The rooms are clean, super-clean. Oh, and the bed, amazingly comfortable! The location is tremendous. It is a short walk to all the best spots in Edinburgh: Edinburgh Castle, Grass Market, The Royal Mile, as well as being close in location to great shopping and restaurants. Janet and Jonathan are some of the sweetest people on Earth! They helped with everything from finding transportation for us to getting us more towels - their accents are just to die for (we're American). Also, you should really eat dinner in the House at least once, the food was FANTASTIC! We ate breakfast at Emmaus House almost every day of the week we stayed as well and it was delicious but the company was even better! We met lots of other travelers who told interesting stories - made even better my the beautiful accents. I went to one of the evening services, which were offered but never pressured, it was such a beautiful, peaceful end to the day. If you want a cozy, exceptional stay in Scotland at a very reasonable price, you've found your place at Emmaus House!

Room Tip: The whole house is gorgeous - the view out the front or back of the house are great for different re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I spent over two weeks at Emmaus House in Edinburgh. I have stayed and compared it to other places in the city and absolutely nothing comes close to the value and hospitality you receive for the cost. It is in a great location for getting anywhere in the city and surrounding area. I literally hated to leave, they made me feel that comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSamuel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast around a big table. A lovely sitting room and library that I hadn't time to use. Bus outside the door and plenty of corner shops. In the garden a small labyrinth and a wonderful wooden little building where a simple prayer meeting is held if you like. Oh...and good coffee!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

30pounds for 1 night and breakfast is included. For me, only a 15min walk to the main street and 20 to the Airport-bus bridge. Unlike my previous BnB, here I was infinately more comfortable leaving my belongings when I went out exploring for the day.

Alone or with a travel buddy you can really enjoy your stay at Emmaus House. It is more than just a BnB it is a friend's house (in Edinburgh!)

My cousin recommended it to me with much enthusiasme and I was shocked at how great of hosts they are there. Gorgeous home with a warm living room, cute kitchen, and spacious rooms.

Room Tip: I had a room with a private bathroom on the first floor. Travelling alone it was lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMonkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#48 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Star Villa
#138 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Cluaran Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adam Drysdale House
#183 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO

Property: Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Address: 14 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Christian community offering accommodation for holiday, business/study or retreat. Warm welcome irrespective of age, gender, sexual orientation, religious tradition. Guests welcome to share in meals; meet others from around the world & local visitors. Near city centre,so easily reached on foot or by bus. Convenient to theatres, cinemas, restaurants, pubs, EICC, universities. Georgian terraced villa. Accommodation: family, double, twin, single - most en-suite. Ground floor room available. Sitting room. Wifi internet. Happy to help with enquiries about the house, this wonderful city, local transport, and other local attractions in Lothian. Our visitor reviews give a very good perspective on staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing