We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Ranked #46 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed at Emmaus House for two nights when I visited Edinburgh to go to a concert at Usher Hall and had a wonderful stay. The house itself is very clean and comfortable, the location is good, and the prices are fabulous. But it is the hospitality that makes Emmaus House truly special. Janet and Andrew are exceptional hosts, and I also very much enjoyed sharing food and conversation with the other guests around the large meal table. Emmaus House makes a great base for exploring the city and doing all of the usual tourist things, and Janet and Andrew can definitely help with that aspect of a visit. But it would also be a lovely place to spend a few days just taking a break from it all to read, write, reflect, and so on. The Christian spirituality that underlies Emmaus House is low-key: definitely available if you want to participate, but not even remotely pushed at you if you don’t. It’s very clear that people of any faith tradition, or none, are all equally welcome. Unconditionally recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamakasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

I travelled to Edinburgh for a conference with my small Christian charity, so price was important to me and I was also looking for more of a community experience than your typical budget hotel brands, so I booked 2 nights at Emmaus. I'm so glad I did. Warm welcome; very inclusive, accepting, family feel; good food around a large, shared dining table; freedom to do your own thing but also chat with other guests if you want (I met interesting people from Italy, Kenya, Moscow, USA); central location; clean room with comfortable bed and good shower; great value. It has everything you need. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Emmaus House is somewhere of which I'm never tired! The hospitality is glorious - unfushed, genuine, and extremely perceptive of the needs of guests. I've stayed here for both a relaxing holiday (or two) with friends and relatives, and found it ideal in terms of amenities, location, cost, and hospitality; and for retreat, and found Emmaus House unfussy in its spirituality, inclusive in the worship in the charming garden chapel, and open to all, wherever we may be on the journey of life. I've made new friends here, and would thoroughly recommend it. Unique!

Room Tip: Book early, and be honest about your hopes - the best will be done to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Emmaus House is such a lovely place where I spent a best night ever in my life. The room is lovely and tidy. And the people there are incredibly nice, too! When I arrived there they even welcome me with a hot tea! They do care about every single minute that you spend there. So if you are looking for a warm, comfortable and lovely place to stay. Emmaus House could be your best choice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Such a warm and welcoming place. Andrew and Janet have created a safe and relaxing atmosphere. Good, hearty food shared with others around the table, a haven of peace and calm in such a busy city, an accepting place and somewhere I would thoroughly, thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Emmaus House is just a delight and Andrew and Janet the best of hosts. The warmth of welcome, the shared breakfast table, the comfortable rooms, the garden labyrinth and the delightful little chapel - none of these things can encapsulate the Emmaus experience. A stay at Emmaus is so much more that the sum of its parts; it refreshes your very soul and reminds you what really is of value in the world.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Chriscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I use Emmaus House regularly - as a base for meetings with a local group and for my own work. Janet and Andrew are excellent hosts - attentive, warm human beings, and supportive on so many different levels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank silvercloud12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 393 in Edinburgh
491 reviews
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#54 of 393 in Edinburgh
100 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#47 of 393 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#57 of 393 in Edinburgh
197 reviews
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO

Address: 14 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $74 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Christian community offering accommodation for holiday, business/study or retreat. Warm welcome irrespective of age, gender, sexual orientation, religious tradition. Guests welcome to share in meals; meet others from around the world & local visitors. Near city centre,so easily reached on foot or by bus. Convenient to theatres, cinemas, restaurants, pubs, EICC, universities. Georgian terraced villa. Accommodation: family, double, twin, single - most en-suite. Ground floor room available. Sitting room. Wifi internet. Happy to help with enquiries about the house, this wonderful city, local transport, and other local attractions in Lothian. Our visitor reviews give a very good perspective on staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing