We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lady Beautiful views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearl View Guest House
Ranked #172 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely lady Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Lorraine is the perfect host, her Guest House is very comfortable & exceptionally clean, We spent 6 nights there in March & were lucky enough to have excellent weather. The view from our room could not be more perfect if you can ask for room 5. Lorraine provided a great choice of Breakfast which we took advantage of I recommend her homemade marmalade & Bread. We felt we were treated as friends & would certainly recommend this Guest House to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wynnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Pearl View for just one night but it was a lovely enough experience to rate it the four stars it deserves. The first you notice driving up to the guest house is the breathtaking view of the coast and sea. This is especially beautiful at sunset and the air feels so fresh.

Now to the guest house itself. After making use of the free parking space, we headed over the road to Pearl View where we received a warm welcome and were given a small tour of the rooms. Our room was clean, comfortable and cosy - the three 'Cs' that can make or break any hotel stay. We particularly liked the free coffee, tea and biscuits that came complimentary in the room and the breakfast in the morning was filling and wholesome - there is a wide range to choose from.

Not a sound could be heard in the Pearl View and it seemed we were staying among respectful guests. The only VERY MINOR issue I had was that I expected there to be the obligatory small sample soaps and shampoos in our room. This detail had slipped my mind when packing and we had to put shower gel on our agenda for the day - not really something you want to be thinking about while out sight-seeing for the. In my experience, complimentary soaps and miniature shampoos are usually the norm and would have brought this rating to a five.

Having said that, Lorraine was an absolutely perfect host and very hospitable - I can see why Pearl View has such a high rating and it has a lot to do with Lorraine - she should be proud of herself.

Summary: Does exactly what it does on the tin. Value for money. Scrummy breakfast and welcoming host.

Room Tip: Take shower gel and shampoo - don't forget it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lechatnoir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Warm welcome, great location, comfortable room, excellent breakfasts. Plus four days of good weather but not sure you can always expect this! Fine promenade walk west to Portobello and east to the delightful Fisherrow Harbour and Musselburgh. Take the bus or park a little closer to Edinburgh, walk through Queens Park to the city centre attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Looking out of our bay window over the Firth of forth was enchanting. Every day different. One day wild and stormy the next calm and misty.sea gulls ever present. You could not have planned it .
. The rooms are large and comfortable. Clean and well maintained.
Extensive choice
for breakfast .Try the full Scottish ,cooked to perfection.
But the best part is Lorraine. She is a gem of a women, warm and very attentive .the perfect host. Forget a fancy hotel this is home from home .B&B does not get any better .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnjgilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for two weekends. A lovely guest house facing the sea on the main road between Portobello and Musselburgh. Lorraine is the perfect host, couldn't be more kind and helpful. Breakfast was gorgeous, with a huge selection for the 'Full Scottish Breakfast'! if you can, get down early and sit in the bay window overlooking the Firth! Excellent direct bus connections right into the city centre and back out again. Our room was small, en-suite shower room, but had everything necessary. Immaculately clean. Would come back any time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the fron have a lovely view but do face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with our little baby, the owner arranged a perfect atmosphere for your little baby and us regarding sleeping, food etc. We can totally recommand this place for families to explore Edinburgh and the suroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloverfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassloch, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 6 nights at Pearl View guesthouse on our Scotland trip and had a great time close to Edinbrugh. Lorraine has been the perfect host. She was very helpful and had good recommendations for trips to Edinburgh and the surrounding as well as for restaurants. The hotel is located close to the beach, so we enjoyed walking along the beach and watching the sundowner. Breakfast is excellent and has a big variety of choices. For the first 4 night we had a single bedroom and a triple bedroom (double bed and additional bed, small wardrobe) which was a bit too small for 3 people spending several nights here. But Lorraine moved us to a more comfortable en-suite room as soon as possible.

Many thansk for the great time here we really enjoyed our stay at PerlView Guest house.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
3.3 mi away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#192 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
0.0 mi away
Ascot Garden
Ascot Garden
#90 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#37 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edinburgh Lodges
Edinburgh Lodges
#5 of 6 in Musselburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mackenzie Bunks
Mackenzie Bunks
#2 of 3 in Musselburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl View Guest House

Property: Pearl View Guest House
Address: 2 Seaview Terrace | Joppa, Edinburgh EH15 2HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pearl View Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing