We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Italian - good though a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nonna's Kitchen

Nonna's Kitchen
Ranked #83 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Modern Italian - good though a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Nonna's is a great italian with a modern twist and a long list of daily specials. The menu is really extensive and there's always a good selection of both meat and fish dishes. I usually go for one of the daily fish specials and have always thoroughly enjoyed my meal. The food is a bit over priced for what it is and a quick meal out to a local restaurant can end up being quite pricey once drinks have been added. That said, the food is always of a really high standard and the service is great too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    89
    23
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Was lucky to win a wonderful 2 course lunch with Prosecco at Nonna's Kitchen for myself and boyfriend. Italian food at its best, coupled with fabulous service. Minestrone soup was delicious and my boyfriend loved the mussels. Mains of pizza and Italian sausage dish were both great too. Staff very friendly and attentive. Look forward to visiting again soon to try other items on the menu. Highly recommended. Thanks again Nonna's kitchen for a lovely lunch!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank G0ldie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Will definitely recommend this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Saturday lunch for 2, first time visit but will definitely be back. Staff so lovely, and food amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DebsMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just loved everything about our visit. The owners, the staff, the food, the ambience. We are a couple but there were 2 birthday parties in and they were brilliant with the children.

excellent "specials" with lots of fish and pizza and pastas

we are looking forward to visiting again when we are next in Edinburgh in June. Can't wait.

Patandalan

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank alan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I ate at this amazing restaurant today with my Gran on a recommendation from a friend. The food was excellent but the staff absolutely make this place. Bright, modern and refreshing, we had a nice table in the middle and were shown to our seats. There were lots of staff and I got the impression of it being a family-run establishment which showed in the customer service, as each person we encountered was extremely pleasant and helpful.

The food was fantastic, we shared a starter and I had one of the best pizzas I have tasted, the mozzarella was clearly of a high standard, given its texture and flavour. Freshly squeezed orange juice was a nice touch as well and all at a reasonable price. It is a shame we do not live closer to this little gem but will definitely be visiting again when in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonna's Kitchen also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Nonna's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing