We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calton Hill

Calton Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.05*
and up
Edinburgh Marathon Festival Running Tour
Ranked #11 of 394 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic neighborhood lined with monuments dating back to the Enlightenment.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hard going up that hill,but when you get to the top the view s are breathtaking and out standing well worth avisit an interesting facts about the place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,642
    2,029
    324
    21
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Teh best allround view over Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Watched the fireworks at the end of the Festival from the top of Calton Hill and fell in love with the city once more. What a magical place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank edinburghlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carlton Hill at Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We went up Carlton Hill at night and got a fantastic night view of the city & Leith. Take a flashlight, step carefully and dress warm...it is worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great views over Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Calton Hill is fairly peaceful place with some great views over Edinburgh. It's an easy walk from the main centre at the end of Princes Street. Initially there are some steps, and then most people followed the steps to the right straight to the top. We carried on straight on up the path with was a gentler less steep path to the top and gave some great views over North Edinburgh and Leith. As it was a clear day we could see as far as the Forth Bridge.
It is possible to go up Nelsons Monument with a small charge (£4), the views over 360 degree uninterupted views over Edinburgh and is well worth the climb.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank manchesterLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
313 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Prince Gastronome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Calton Hill is an impressive mound. The area the public has access to features several monuments including the incongruous national monument, looking more Greek than Scottish. This was intentional, as it was based on the Parthenon in Athens, not to be confused with the Parthenon in Nashville…totally not a joke; they have one. At least the Americans finished theirs; the national monument of Scotland remains unfinished, with only one wall standing of its original design. I thought this was intentional but apparently it wasn’t. This marks one of several glaring examples of Edinburgh’s uncompleted projects, one other signified by the numerous rail grooves down Princes Street to accommodate an inner city rail system with no trains riding on them.
Nearby was the Nelson Monument, mentioned on my Scott Monument achievement card. Upon entering this tower, I was handed a similar card boasting the steps of Nelson, 170. It must be a local joke to inflict on the tourists (“Ha-ha, they climbed it!”). I mean they didn’t do that in Hong Kong at the Big Buddha and that was 268 steps, big ones to. So yeah, I climbed it. I got my card which advertised and recommended climbing the 287 steps of the Scott Monument. But I just came from there, and I was given a card congratulating about my ascent and recommending that I take the climb of the Nelson Monument clearly visible from atop Scott.
OH GOD, I’VE BEEN CAUGHT IN AN INFINITE LOOP!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrinceGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calton Hill also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Calton Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing