We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent views, great exercise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calton Hill

Calton Hill
Book In Advance
$13.71*
and up
Edinburgh Darkside Haunted Walking Tour: Mysteries, Murder and Legends
Ranked #11 of 375 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic neighborhood lined with monuments dating back to the Enlightenment.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent views, great exercise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A short walk uphill from our hotel to a great view around Edinburgh. No financial cost incurred and a great way to walk off a hearty Scottish breakfast! Monuments on the hilltop make additional interesting reading, with information at the attractions to allow you to catch a breath! Edinburgh is a city with lots of green open space and it is all free, so when in town take the chance to see our beautiful capital from as many angles as possible. We did and have no regrets!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AFS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,062
    1,750
    272
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“The best things in life are free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When we visited Edinburgh i had heard of Calton Hill beforehand didnt realise how close it was to the city.It was only a 1o minute walk from the Royal Mile and you get excellent views of Edinburgh. A must See!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thrahtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Steep but beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

At first I wasn't too enthused about walking up this giant hill, but after being dragged up it by my boyfriend I am thoroughly glad I did! The view was absolutely breathtaking. Being able to see the buzz of the city below, with the rolling hills in the background. Nowhere else have I ever seen such a contrast in one landscape. Brave the hill and take in the view!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cadie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unbeatable views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

For those living in Edinburgh, or just visiting, Calton Hill is an absolute must see. The views from this hill are second to none, and enable you to see the old town, Edinburgh Castle, the Balmoral, the Scott Monument, and the bright lights of Princes Street. The other side of the Hill overlooks the Leith area of the city and then Arthur's Seat. Take your camera, you are guaranteed to get superb shots. It does get windy up there, so wear warm clothing if visiting outside of the summer months (and sometimes even during summer actually!).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best views in Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

After having a horrific day travelling, one of those- everything that could go wrong did days... We stumbled upon this gem. The lookout is awe Inspiring and the architecture is amazing! Well worth the walk, the pictures we have are amazing and it made our day.

Helpful?
Thank Timetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calton Hill also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Calton Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing