We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pricey version of Wagamana. Don't hold your breath.”
Review of Tattu Edinburgh

Tattu Edinburgh
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 2/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #395 of 3,072 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $56 - $175
Description: Tattu Edinburgh delivers contemporary Chinese cuisine, fusing traditional flavours with modern cooking methods and exquisite presentation to create a unique and exciting dining experience. Tattu Edinburgh begins a new chapter of our journey with an aesthetic that celebrates the relationship between traditional Chinese interior design, such as wooden fretwork and bespoke chinoiserie fabric.
Restaurant details
Description: Tattu Edinburgh delivers contemporary Chinese cuisine, fusing traditional flavours with modern cooking methods and exquisite presentation to create a unique and exciting dining experience. Tattu Edinburgh begins a new chapter of our journey with an aesthetic that celebrates the relationship between traditional Chinese interior design, such as wooden fretwork and bespoke chinoiserie fabric.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Astonishing architect. Food is mediocre to be kind. A pricey version of wagamama.
Scallops were excellent, so were the small beef cubes. But the seared tuna was ice cold straight from the fridge , the squid "tempura" was just a poor chep batter and cleared had been fried from frozen.
Good service. However foods , like at Wagamama, comes when ready , not in the order you wish it. My tex-mex starter bell peppers , prelunch snacks, came with the main course.
That's it.
Not worth the booking hype. This bubble will burst soon.the three stars are for the decor settings the food is 2 stars.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank giovannis837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2059UYlaurah, Other at Tattu Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Giovanni,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to Tattu Edinburgh.

We are sorry to hear you left us feeling disappointed and underwhelmed with your experience. We have duly noted your feedback regarding the quality of our food and the style of service and will pass this on to our Head Chef and management team for further consideration and review.

We hope to welcome you back to Tattu Edinburgh in the near future!

TATTU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After seeing reviews, we and friends decided to give Tattu a try. To start we ordered a mix of Dim Sum and small plates from the menu. Our waitress spoke very quickly and was difficult to comprehend. Anyway we asked for cutlery, one set arrived, then we asked for the other sets, two more arrived, we were still one short. Again we asked the waitress, her response was "are you taking the p***", unbelievable! We ignored her behaviour and enjoyed our first course. Things took a turn for the worse, three out of our 4 main(large plates) courses arrived stone cold, impossible to eat. We complained, the meals were taken away to be replaced by hot dishes, but only after our one lucky friend had finished his meal. I could recommend the Dim Sum, small plates and the deserts, but on this experience, I can't honestly recommend the large plates or particularly the service.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank dirleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2059UYlaurah, Other at Tattu Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to Tattu Edinburgh.

I deeply apologise that you left us feeling disappointed in our large plates and the service you received. I will forward your feedback to our Floor Manager and Head Chef for further investigation and review.

I would, however, would like to stress that Tattu embraces a multicultural environment and we welcome staff from all over the word. Their proficiency in English is duly tested throughout the application process and we are therefore fully confident in the communication skills with guests.

Yours sincerely,

TATTU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When you first enter the place it looks amazing with cherry blossom trees everywhere - the decor I would score 5*. We had booked a table for 20:15 and waited until 20:35 to be seated which was a little annoying and didnt receive an apology for this, once seated we were told that they had run out of several courses one of which was the sticky beef ribs and we really wanted to try this as we had heard this was a hot favourite at the restaurant. Disappointed, we instead settled for "beef gyoza" which was tasteless and had the texture of slugs however the crispy duck rolls were really tasty. For the main we ordered angry bird chicken which was lovely, monkfish which was really tasty, beansprouts noodles and Singapore noodles which where really plain and could of done with a touch of soya sauce for flavour. Couple of things that were slightly irritating was when we received our food someone would stand at our table for 5 mins waiting for a waitress/waiter to "explain/serve" our meal and they served 3 dishes of the main meal with us waiting for the 4th dish for 5 minutes. Over all I would score a 3 as I was expecting better from this restaurant as you're paying alot of money, for average food and service. The waitress who was serving us was really nice and did try her best to keep us happy.

Date of visit: January 2020
6  Thank 77martinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattuEdinburgh, Marketing at Tattu Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Martin,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to Tattu Edinburgh.

Our apologies to hear you left us feeling disappointed and underwhelmed with your visit. I am sorry to hear you experienced a delay in being seated and you did not enjoy our Beef Gyoza and Singapore Noodles. We have duly taken note of your feedback and passed it on to our Reservations Manager and Head Chef for further investigation and review.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly through edinburgh@tattu.co.uk if you wish to discuss your recent experience in more detail.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

TATTU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really nice restaurant to treat yourself with sophisticated Chinese food. Best was Angry bird, but also the truffle dim sum and crispy duck rolls. Served with charm by the very lovely Spanish Ana. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Climber599606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2059UYlaurah, Other at Tattu Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic five star review and recommendation!

We are thrilled to read you had a fantastic time with us and loved our charming Ana. We will make sure to pass on your kind word to her.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Tattu Edinburgh soon!

TATTU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went first time with my wife. Service was 5*. Our host for the night went through the menu and adjusted to suit my needs. Fantastic venue for a occasion. Will be back

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2059UYlaurah, Other at Tattu Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mark,

Thank you do much for sharing your fabulous five star review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our excellent service; we will make sure to compliment our team on your behalf.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

TATTU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tattu Edinburgh also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Tattu Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing