We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay before leaving Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was an excellent hotel for our last night in Edinburgh. The family room accommodates a family of four with younger children as there are two single beds and a double pullout bed. Staff was extremely helpful in remedying a slight problem with our Booking.com reservation. The hotel is very clean, modern, and the restaurant was good for dinner and breakfast. Airport noise was minimal and the shuttle was very convenient. We highly recommend staying here when using the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny19982014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 798 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

We decided to book this hotel as we had a very early flight from Edinburgh and didn't fancy driving up the road during the night. We arrived mid afternoon, parked the car over the road then sat and enjoyed the hotel bar/restaurant. We were told that breakfast would be available from 4am which was perfect and the shuttle bus would transport us to the airport, everything went without a hitch. The room itself was very nice, spacious, clean, great shower, no complaints at all. The only minor issue being really picky was when we returned from our holiday we were unsure where to find the shuttle bus back to the hotel, after a bit of walking around the airport we finally found a sign saying HIE but If we were to fly from Edinburgh again we would definitely use this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suze1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Despite booking and paying for the room 10 weeks before the date, on arrival at 23.45pm we discovered that they had no details of our booking. After a long search of their system they eventually found the details under another name. Thankfully we had printed off all the confirmations. Although the night staff were very helpful and got it sorted out, it appears that this was not an uncommon occurrence. The rooms are good, toilets clean and new, the breakfast was all good. WiFi is a bit patchy. They claim 4 minutes walk to airport, it took longer than that on the transfer bus, cost £2.50 return. Overall good for the airport, you can leave the car when away on your trip at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIxEdiAirportGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Aberdeenvoyager

Thank you for leaving this review.

It is great to read that the Nights' team researched and found your booking. We would always recommend you book your reservation's directly on our own IHG website or contacting us directly. That way you are not leaving up to that 3rd party to communcate the booking AND you'll ensure you receive accurate information on our location, i.e. please note we are located at Edinburgh Airport only 5 minutes journey on our 24 hour shuttle.

Very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found the Park Stay and Go packages good value.

My kind regards
Jason Dombrower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Situated a stones throw from the airport the hotel is ideally placed. The sound of planes taking off and landing a given at this range. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished, it's great to have a good sized desk to work at. The staff couldn't be more helpful. There was a very small amount of noise coming from the room next door. When I went to investigate if I backed onto the bar (I didn't ) the duty manager noticed me and having established why I was looking, moved me to another room without prompting or hesitation. There was a nice banter with customers and a very warm welcome from all staff. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have slightly less aircraft noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have stayed here in a previous life when it was the Quality Inn. As the Holiday Inn Express it is NOW quality. The whole place is fresh and inviting. Staff at Reception make you feel very important on arrival. The room we were in was extremely clean and bright, although the bathroom could have done with a working extractor fan. Had pizzas and drinks in the hotel at a very competitive rate and extremely well cooked. The order arrived within 10 minutes by very attentive and polite waiting staff. The complimentary breakfast was most satisfying and the young man on duty was extremely helpful, pleasant and attentive. The G.M. Mr Dombrower must be very proud to be in charge of such a lovely establishment. We would certainly recommend the hotel to all travellers. .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here before when the Quality Inn, now refurbished to a high standard by Holiday Inn Express. Very impressed with the service given, standard and comfort of the room. The complimentary breakfast was first class and much appreciated. The shuttle service to and from the airport, 5 minutes, is also first class to and from the front entrance of the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but ground floor most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here either before or after flights quite a few times now. No hesitation in staying here this time.

Again we did the Park + Fly. No problem with the car at all.

Ate here the night before. It's all changed since our last stay. Menu fine. Room was great, clean, warm, Wi-fi worked fine everywhere.

Only complaint was the noise from the generator. Couldn't sleep. Went to reception, guy was great. Came up with me to make sure it had gone off at 10pm. It had. Apparently the receptionist was meant to tell us at check-in but she didn't. But now we know for next time.

You have to pay for the airport bus now, but you get your tickets from reception.

We will stay here again. And again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joviscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#93 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport

Address: 101 Ingliston Road | Edinburgh Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8AU, Scotland (Formerly Quality Hotel Edinburgh Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $101 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel situated at Edinburgh Airport. Guests enjoy free parking, free WiFi and breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Edinburgh
Quality Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing