We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grumpy Barman”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Oxford Bar

Oxford Bar
Ranked #29 of 210 Nightlife in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grumpy Barman”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice wee bar but let down a bit by customer service from 40 years ago.

Polite tourist refused a cup of tea by a grumpy barman who said they disn't serve it despite just finishing his own cuppa - ironically in a mug that said 'you'll have had your tea'!

Make an effort folks - it's nice to be nice!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ionadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    6
    2
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigtown
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Have just spent an afternoon in the Oxford Bar in Young Street in Edinburgh, a short walk from the main attractions but worth while for something a little different. Don't be put off by the deceiving frontage and the tiny bar - explore further and be pleasantly surprised. A proper pub with no hang ups. Enjoy the history and the knowledge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtoin DC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Where Rebus Walked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well to be truthful, this is Ian's Rankin's local bar. A tiny (and I mean very small indeed). He places Rebus there very often. Good beer in an obscure spot right off Charlotte Square on the New Town. After strolling the city pop in and think of Rebus.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“What A Welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Being fans of good, local, real pubs, we particularly sought the Oxford Bar out during our recent trip Edinburgh. And we were not disappointed. From the moment we walked into the small front bar we were made to feel very welcome. We looked into the lounge bar, but decided to stay in the front bar as the atmosphere was great. The local characters chatted to us and really made a very positive difference to our stay in the city. The lady behind the bar (Kirsty?) was also very friendly, gave us tastes of the various ales before we made our choice, and when she realised how genuinely interested we were in the bar gave us postcards and bookmarks.

One of the postcards was sent to a friend "down south", and has earned us a number of brownie points to be cashed in! The other will go in our scrapbook as a memory of a special lunchtime.

Thankyou to everyone at the Oxford Bar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TommoNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple with a good pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stopped by here with a local friend, and enjoyed the simplicity of pub without a lot of toursity gimmicks. Several beers on tap as well as other drinks available. The space was small with basic tables and chairs. Great pub atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ReMaKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Oxford Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing