We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashlyn Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Claremont Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Raeburn(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Howard(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nira Caledonia(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Channings Hotel(Edinburgh)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (91)
    Filter reviews
    91 results
    Traveler rating
    73
    14
    3
    1
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    73
    14
    3
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgeorgian houseb bstayed herecity centregreat hostsbus stoporiginal featuresplace to stayfull scottish breakfasthigh ceilingsperfect stayfresh fruitwalking distancefringe festivalshort breakon arrivalbotanic
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    39 - 44 of 91 reviews
    Reviewed September 7, 2013

    We stayed for 3 nights in August, and it was our first stop after flying in overnight and driving from Glasgow. Four of us showed up on their doorstep at 11 am, long before check in time. Peter and Lindsey fixed us tea and coffee in the common room, pulled the door shut gently when they saw we'd all fallen asleep across our bags, and had our room cleaned promptly so we could nap upstairs. We hadn't changed any currency yet, so Peter found us the exact change for the bus when we were ready to explore town. We had the family room, which was quite large enough for me, my husband, and two adult children. It has a sink and blow drier in the room, handy when we were trying to get ready at the same time. The bathroom is across the hall, private for our use, with bathrobes provided. I never bumped into another guest while crossing the hall though it is possible. One thing I hadn't planned for was how much longer it takes the 4 of us to get ready when rotating through one shower, but that reflects on my planning, not on the Ashlyn! The bathroom was pristine and attractive, and the beds were comfy. Breakfasts were delicious with options that suited all of us. The location is an easy bus ride away from downtown and by the end of our three days we'd gotten the hang of reading the schedule. It's also walkable, but we did so much walking it was nice to rest a bit and save some time. Originally I'd thought I wanted to stay downtown, but I'm glad we didn't. It's a bit of a mob scene in the main areas (during festival time atleast, we visited during the end of august, other times i doubt it would be quite as crowded) and it was more restful to get away from it to sleep. Try the Orchard for a nearby lunch or dinner.

    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank TLCKirk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 3, 2013

    Stayed in one of the twin rooms, was pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the proprietors. Stayed here for 2 weeks during July and August, would have given better review, but the bathroom facilities for this room I felt were falsely advertised. The toilet was a flight of stairs down and the smaller than a stamp shower was across the hallway. There was a perfectly good bathroom right outside the door of the nice little bedroom too.

    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank netdancer
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ashlyn21, Owner at Ashlyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

    Hi - thanks for taking the time to review your stay.
    Just to clarify, it was our single room you stayed in with private shower and toilet, not one of our twin rooms. We are really sorry that you felt you had been misled on the description of where the facilities were - we would never intentionally mislead guests, and based on your feedback we will make it clearer on our website that the toilet is a few steps downstairs and the shower is small. What I would like to highlight however, is that the facilities for our single room are reflected in the price for the room, which also includes full quality breakfast and free wifi. In August in Edinburgh I'm not sure you would find similar facilities for the same price.
    The other bathroom you mention is for private use for the Family Room as we explained during your stay.
    We welcome feedback from all our guests and we hope that the amendments to the website description will ensure no other guests feel misled.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 28, 2013

    Our friends were married in the Botanic Gardens in August - and we were after a place to stay which was walking distance home afterwards (instead of battling to find a taxi after midnight on a Saturday night in the middle of the Fringe Festival!).

    Ashlyn Guest House was approx ten minutes (slow) walk from the East Gate of the gardens - so perfect for us. About a 25 minute walk into town (up a smallish hill - take the bus if you're lazy).

    We stayed in room 7 in the very top of the building - usually a twin, they joined the beds up for us, and it was fine. Bathroom was across the hallway, and solely for our use - so fine. Bedroom window looked out the back of the property, so very lovely and quiet. Another guest staying in one of the rooms that faced the front of the property said the traffic was quite busy at night (okay if you're a heavy sleeper).

    Breakfast was lovely - some of the best bacon I've had in a long time. Struggled to get up in time for 8:30 - 9:30am slot for breakfast on the Sunday morning, but can understand why the breakfast window is so narrow....but it would have been nicer to have the option of a later breakfast on Sunday :)

    Would definitely come back and stay here again when in Edinburgh.

    Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper / disturbed by traffic - ask for a room facing the back of the property.
    • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SimBuc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ashlyn21, Owner at Ashlyn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

    Hi - thanks for taking the time to review our guest house and we're glad you enjoyed your stay and didn't get sore feet walking home from the wedding! Thanks for your comments on the breakfast times - we constantly review our service and will take your feedback into account for the future.
    Hopefully see you again in Edinburgh.
    Lindsey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 24, 2013

    We stayed here during June for three nights. Service and food are excellent in a great environment. Use the buses in and back from the City. Great local places to eat and drink too. Botanic Gardens on your doorstep.

    • Stayed: June 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank rguyatt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

    Room 8 is a twin which is at the top of this Georgian house which still has many of it's original features.The room is pleasant & very clean. Breakfast had a varied choice & was cooked well & pleasantly served. The proprietors are very friendly & helpful.

    • Stayed: June 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank elanob
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews