We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a short trip to the mother city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for a short trip to the mother city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Malmaison is a gud place to stay, It s close to the newly developed harbor site, but close enough to town to enjoy the city. Best to take one of the many busses. Nightlive around the hotel includes pubs and restaurants

Room Tip: All rooms are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    662
    342
    134
    47
See reviews for
152
1,043
38
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Everything from the comfortable bed, bright light airy room, spotless bathroom and generous lovely bath products made the stay special. This hotel is quirky as well as comfortable and there are even coloured candles burning in reception to give you that homely atmosphere. The staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble . Food was delicious and I left feeling relaxed and as if I had been there for days rather than a one night break.

Room Tip: As you are close to the Docks I think that all the rooms would be peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our tour of scotland, the hotel is lovely and staff are all well trained. Room was beautifully decorated and hotel is in a good location for Edinburgh sight sightseeing.

Breakfast was also very good but service was a bit rushed.

Hope to be back in the future

Duncan

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for a weekend. Room was very spacious and everything was there in the bathroom that you required. Meals in the hotel were good.Walking distance to the shopping centre and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Lots of restaurants nearby including Tom Kitchen's.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 35aileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
294 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Took my girlfriend for the Ultimate Sunday Brunch (normally £19.95) per person but we had an ITison voucher. Well I can honestly say food was superb, and I would have paid the full price for the three courses we had, it was that good ! The staff were so friendly and made sure your visit was all you wanted it to be. It started with a help yourself buffet, lots of salad, fish, etc and soup along with lovely breads. Then we both opted for the Sunday Roast which was delicious. I then had creme brûlée and my friend had hot chocolate with white chocolate ice cream and marshmallows ! Thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here for a few nights last weekend. We were disappointed as the room given - room 115 - looked over the back of the building, & this area is used as a cigarette break area for staff. There was some renovation work taking place which was quite noisy.

The hotel is easily accessed from the station, & has lots of nice bars & eateries close by.

Our room was spacious & comfortable, & absolutely spotless. The staff were professional, but we had few contacts with them.

An OK stay, but we were a bit disappointed overall & with such variety available in Edinburgh we would likely look elsewhere if returning.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nrs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. Rooms were very spacious by European standards and the service was excellent. Staff were very friendly and informative about tours to take, etc. Moreover, went out of their way to ensure that all our needs were attended to.

Breakfast was not included in our package and on-site buffet was quite expensive so we did not indulge and hence cannot comment. Suggestion to Hotel: The breakfast buffet for Veggies must be priced differently as the spread is much limited.

The hotel is slightly far from the main areas - old town/royal mile/ prices street, but is well connected by buses. Day tickets are a best buy as it costs 3.5 per pax for unlimited travel. There's free parking on site, so hiring a car is always a good idea to navigate around the rest of Scotland.

No Air conditioning in rooms though they provide us with good table fans and coolers (complimentary) if required. Nights are very pleasant and the need does not arise.

Excellent rooms and great service made it a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaketSutodiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#64 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing