We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Cocktails & Dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #94 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delightful Cocktails & Dreams”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Purchased the overnight package titled 'Cocktails & Dreams' at the 'Mal' in the Leith area of Edinburgh. The building is impressive, the area a great place to explore and our room (standard) was fabulous. We ate in the restaurant which was delicious and the breakfast next morning was very good (well worth upgrading to the cooked brekkie for £2). Staff were excellent, especially our waitperson on Thursday evening of our stay (8th May). One word of caution, if you are wanting to stay in Edinburgh city centre, this is not the hotel for you. However the benefits of being outside the city centre is free parking and a great vibe in the up-and-coming Leith area. We shall return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcroberts622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    677
    348
    135
    47
See reviews for
156
1,061
38
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May for a special occasion. I had originally booked a standard room but on arrival asked if I could upgrade. There was a suite available which we were able to upgrade to for a very reasonable price.
We got room 120 which was a delightfully big room with a four poster bed a large sitting area. It overlooked the front of the hotel and the quayside - perfect. The front of the hotel gets the sun in the afternoon and evening.
Breakfasts are good with a good choice of cooked food as well as continental.
The hotel is situated in Leith which is about 2 miles from the centre of Edinburgh, near the Scottish Assembly. This didn't matter to us as we needed to be in this area, but might be a bit off putting if you want to be in the centre. What I would say is that there is a great bus service to the Old City or Princess Street, from a buss stop a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Catch a 35 to the Old City or a 22 or 16 to Princess Street. It costs £1.50 or you can get a day rover for £3.50, using the buses as often as you like. Take plenty of change, none given on the bus.
This area has been regenerated in recent years and there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ILStourton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights for business with several colleagues.

Check in was efficient considering all 8 of us arrived at once. When we all conferred over dinner it seems that our rooms varied greatly in size and views. Mine was small, clean and had a view over the water and seemed to be on the quiet side of the hotel. One thing we all agreed on was that there was only a 'heating' option and no 'cooling systems for the room'. It was over 20 degrees during the day and some found the rooms quite warm. Mine was ok with the large window open all night.

The bed - a personal taste issue - but I found mine to be very hard and this meant I struggled to sleep through the night.

Dinner - expensive but tasty and well cooked. we opted to eat out on the other night.

Drinks - in the attached bar area were very expensive. and only schooners are served 2/3 of a pint. lager was £3.80 cocktails varied from £8 up to nearly £10. so don't expect any change from £20 if you are getting a few drinks in!

Breakfast - one of my colleagues ended up leaving the breakfast area as his order was still not delivered by the time we had to leave - considering he arrived with half and hour to spare this was not good. I suggest getting there with plenty of time - checking the menu quickly and getting your order in fast! From my orders I would say the breakfast was very tasty - it just took a while for the waiting staff to get themselves organised in the mornings it seems. Perhaps not an issue if you have plenty of time to spare or are there on a leisure break.

mini bar - as usual for hotels ridiculously expensive, but some unusual and different products supplied....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Avoid room 203! The room has no outlook at all - faces a wall and is over I assume the kitchen extractors. The window has obscured glass, combined with the dark (ambient!) lighting makes you feel like you are in the basement. The room was so hot - I dread to think what it was like in the summer. I had no choice but to endure it as, with the window open, the humming noises from the extractor were loud and every 10 or so minutes kicked into to extra loud for about 10 minutes. The bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor, I like a firm mattress but this was so uncomfortable. The curtain only just covered the window, drawing it was a hard job - the rail desperately needed a clean I thought. In tugging it closed, three hooks came out and when I climbed up to fix it I realised the proper curtain hooks had long since broken and the curtain was being held up by a combination of a a few curtain hooks and the rest bent wire replacements - no wonder the curtain was so tough to close. Not what you expect for a £100+ room rate.

There is no sound insulation - I could hear quite clearly the person in the next room using the toilet and everyone walking past the door. The doors are heavy and close very loudly so you are kept awake until the last person is in bed!

Breakfast doesn't start until 7am - not great for the business traveller and so I never got chance to try it out.

There are pluses....free parking, nice toiletries and lovely fluffy towels, but I would happily forgo these for a good night's sleep.

Overall, thoroughly disappointed with MalMaison and would not consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

booked a suite as a surprise for partners birthday,after finding check in was asked for voucher,sorry paid in advance no vocher deal.Having to check this with another staff member ..this was confirmed. was given two cocktail vouchers included in price.Room was lovely ,very cleanand nice street facing views to cobbled front.Free standing bath at window great until you realised flats opposite looked in and you have no blind.At checkout was asked if I had used mini bar or had lunch ,sorry no I hadn't and was looked at in disbelief,again after checking cocktails had been billed to room.Eventually it was clarified but with no apology.sorry but this is not good customer service Iwas left feeling as if I had tried to avoid payment .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikalexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights for part of our honeymoon exploring Scotland, and paid £153 per night for our suite, which was lovely, although at night you couldn't see much as there was no main room light, just lamps...all the extras in the room were extortionate too......we decided to have breakfast in our room, which was very disappointing to be honest for the money you pay, a glass of yogurt, 2 croissants and some cereal and fruit :( didn't even get coffee/tea with it, and when I rang down I was told that's because we had coffee on our trays in the room...again very disappointing, when paying this much for a nights stay you do expect a certain standard, and unfortunately the MalMaison didn't live up to expectations...on a positive note, the hotel is in a good location, and has free parking, the bus stop into Edinburgh is right up the street and £3.50 for a day pass, also there are some really lovely restaurants in the area...... the shower was wonderful, although I had to leave a note for housekeeping to replace our toiletries, as they didn't do it the first day. the cutlery and crockery was chipped and bent etc, so although the suite was lovely, the place on the whole is a let down, and we doubt we'd stay with this chain again.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 120, was nice with a lovely view of the quayside, and very clean...praise goes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

After using the trusty mal to stay in if there is one in the city I'm visiting, I'm never disappointed, but after the 1 night stay using the Sunday supplement offer I was.

The greeting wasn't as usual, empty reception, then the check in was slow and then the room was sadly grubby, the bathroom was smelly and there was a dead wasp stuck in the lighting, after trying to call reception there was no answer, however dinner was lovely service by waiting staff was great.
Room was very noisy through the night , sleep quality was poor.

However area is lovely, and the bars and restaurants are fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdd_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing