We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine in bar - wow!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine in bar - wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and were really happy with the everything except, £11.00 for a glass of wine - admittedly a large glass - in the bar is ridiculous! There was a bottle of wine in the room at £13.95 which we could have had but we had had a long day and just wanted a nice relaxing drink in the bar. That was the first night - needless to say we went out on our second.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    662
    342
    134
    47
See reviews for
152
1,043
38
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our room looked a little tired a lick of fresh paint is needed, the heater did not work and was hanging off the wall ,it was replaced by a standard one. The bathroom needed an upgrade .Our room was at the back , so our view was of a large rusty container. Could not fault our breakfast or the evening meal it was fine . The staff were friendly and helpful. Not what we expected a bit of a let down after staying at Liverpool.

Room Tip: See the room first
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the third Malmaison we have stayed in so have obviously had better experiences in the past. Had this been the first visit I would not have booked another malmaison. I booked a standard room for two nights and received an e-mail asking if I would like to upgrade. Based on the fabulous superior room we had in Aberdeen malmaison we decided to splash out and upgrade to a suite at an additional cost of £36 per night, I was expecting a touch of luxury as a treat. Sadly room 222 was nowhere near as nice as the room in Aberdeen and was rather dark and gloomy.
On the first evening we booked a meal in the brasserie and ordered Thai pumpkin soup which was plentiful but very bland. We both ordered the sea bass for our main but we're advised by the waitress that it would be a very small portion so we would be advised to order some portions of vegetables at £3.50 each to ensure we had enough. The people behind us booked fillet steak at over £29 each and we're also told that all they would get was steak and a mushroom so would need to buy chips, veg etc to make a meal. Surely at the prices they are charging you should be able to rely on receiving a complete meal without having to pay for extra to make it a sufficient portion size. I would not bother to eat there again as there are several better value and good quality restaurants within a few 100 yards of malmaison.
Our package included continental breakfast which was fine however the floor where we were sitting was covered in pasta and other spilled food from the previous evening. Again I would expect a hotel of this price range to be kept spotless particularly in areas where food is served.
The receptionist who greeted us on arrival was excellent and gave us a map and first class advise on where and when we could catch buses in to town. On the second evening we asked for a taxi to pick up my daughter and her fiancé who we're staying elsewhere in Edinburgh and then to take us on to a restaurant. We had asked for the taxi for 6:50 but had no word by 7:00pm so approached the desk to be told they had booked 7:50 in error- no apology was given. While we were waiting another couple came down and asked for a taxi to be booked, we were still waiting after their taxi arrived and had to phone ahead and apologise to the restaurant.
On the whole although the view was good and the room was ok for the price it was a major disappointment. No where near as nice as the Belfast or Aberdeen Malmaison and in need of a bit of cleaning and brightening up.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo63burr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I recently stayed for one night whilst in Scotland on business. The hotel is nice - typical Mal decor etc. WIFI is free and good connection. Breakfast available from 7am which unfortunately was too late for me so I cannot comment on the std of food. All in all a comfortable room, lovely shower and decent products. The only thing to be aware of is that it is a taxi ride to get to Waverley train station

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fourtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked a special offer "cocktails and dreams package" via the Malmaison website.

This included, 2 course dinner, for two, overnight stay and a cocktail each for £99

On day of arrival I was unsure of the location so I called the hotel and staff advised me what bus to get and where to get off. Very helpful.

On arrival we were put in a lovely room 221 lovely view of the loch. Decent size, lots of toiletries free wifi. The hotel is located at "the shore" very nice surroundings with lots of bars restaurants nearby.

We reserved a table for 8pm - spicy parsnip soup to start which was delicious, followed by belly pork with potato fondant which was stunning. My other half had the plaice which was also very tasty.

Followed sticky toffee pudding..... This was ok nothing to rave about though.

We had the cosmopolitan cocktails - very well made and very potent

Fab nights sleep, very comfy bed and a lovely nights sleep

Overall we feel it was fantastic value for what we paid and would def return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandJordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Got treated to an overnight stay with my sister. The room was large and very clean. Breakfast was really nice and the staff were excellent. Only problem being that it takes 45 mins to walk into Edinburgh, which in the dark was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingernut268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Had 2 nights here recently and enjoyed my stay.
Room was a good size, comfortable bed and great choice at breakfast if only a little slow. Good service in the bar and nice bar food. I didn't try the restuarant but looking at how busy it was I can only presume its good.
Plenty of cafés, restaurants and small shops.
Would happily stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing