We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really cool place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a really cool place to stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel, in a really good location close to all the fantastic restaurants in Leith, The décor is great, it has a very trendy feel to it
Really comfortable room, and excellent bar service, plus yummy breakfast. The staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberleyjane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    690
    350
    136
    50
See reviews for
161
1,074
39
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant two night weekend stay here, chose it for the excellent choice of Michelin restaurants nearby to celebrate our Silver wedding anniversary, we used the hotel restaurant on the Saturday evening which was fine with an excellent Argentinian red !!
The staff were all excellent from reception to bar and brasserie.
Good breakfast, nice stay thanks !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thejaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were visiting our daughter who stays in Edinburgh and opted to stay at Malmaison which was near to her new flat. We had a really good stay and as we on a continental breakfast we opted to pay the extra few pounds to upgrade to full Scottish which was excellent. Hotel is of a high standard and after eating in another part of Edinburgh we returned to a pub nearby (The Granary) for a night cap. Check in and check out were fine but when I checked phone banking a few days later £12.50 had been taken from my account. When I queried this I was told I had had a bottle of wine from the fridge (which we didn't) and this amount was refunded to me. We had a nice say but charging us for something we didn't have left us a little unsure if we would use it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanetteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela, Hawaii
Level Contributor
395 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights and then returned a few days later for another night. We had two adjoining rooms. They were large and very comfortable with nice clean bathrooms. Their breakfasts were very good. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us a bag of bread to feed the ducks in the nearby canal. I took an hour walk along the canal and it was beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First stay at Malmaison and very enjoyable experience. Room was spacious and well equipped and atmosphere in bar was trendy and very relaxing. I didn't eat at the hotel so unable to comment on this but returning next month so better idea then!

Room Tip: We chose executive family room which provided excellent space,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from the Malmaison and what a lovely experience we had. Service and staff were fantastic room was very pleasant and clean. Husband had ordered champagne for our room on arrival which was well presented.. Breakfast was lovely to. We will defiantly be returning to the Malmaison soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September on a tour of Scotland and lunch at Tom Kitchins retaurant. The room we had was stunning and so spacious, beds that you wouldnt want to get out of and a fabulous bathroom, really boutique style. We ate one night at the retaurant and the food and cocktails were fabulous, really worth it, and breakfasts are just as amazing with plenty of choice. Ideal location if you are visiting Edinburgh as there is a really good local bus service which takes you there saving you the hassle of parking in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#93 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing