We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a really helpful and friendly staff”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is a great location for a stay in Ediburgh, loads of great local restaurants to choose from

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGetalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,699 - 1,705 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Malmaison in located in the leith docks are which has loads of lovely bars and restaurants surrounging it. The hotel itself is an attractive old building overlooking one of the dock basins. Staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly and we definitly couldnt fault the service. Our room although small was adequate, but there are a few issues that made it a less than perfect experience. Issue 1: the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in! The mattress was solid and the springs weren't sounding too healthy either, given the main reason for staying in a hotel is sleep this has brought it down to 3 stars in my eyes! Issue 2: The rain shower was great however the flow seemed to be a little too much for the drain in the bath to cope with and the deluge overspilled the bath resulting in a rather wet floor in the bathroom. The final Issue, and it does have to be said that this isnt just a malmaison issue, it seems common throughout the world of hotels: the hotel room was obviously designed by a man! When mirrors and sockets are being positioned it seems there is no thought given to women putting on make up and doing hair using the numerous instruments of torture that require electricity! The mood lighting is great but we need a bright light and a mirror with a socket under it to allow us to look good enough to put the mood lighting to good use!!!!

Room Tip: The bed in 124 is to be avoided!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsD06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here with our three dogs! I am always amazed that hotels of this quality will not only accept dogs, but three at once.

We booked a standard double (£119.00 bed and breakfast) the room was excellent, a good size at the end of a corridor with french doors which the dogs loved, they happily lay watching the world go by, we were offered baskets and bowls, but prefer to take our own.

the bed was enormous and very comfortable, when I booked I was asked if I had any special requests, extra pillows , blankets etc.

The breakfast was excellent, a continental buffet followed by a large choice of cooked to order dishes.

I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Never been disappointed with this place. I use it for business and can normally get a good rate off their website. Food and wine excellent. Yes they take a pre authorisation on your card when you arrive( another reviewer queried this) but that is standard practice in any top quality hotel. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spongegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Having stayed in several Malmaison hotels, including this one several times, this time we were distinctly underwhelmed. Reception staff friendly, but the rooms and interior were tired and a bit shabby. Our room on the first floor was very dark, 'complemented' by the brown furnishing (not brown in all rooms!), with frosted windows to distract from the brick wall, was pretty dismal. Our fresh milk in the morning did not arrive, petty, but just annoying when you really need a coffee! Previously this would have been my first choice in Edinburgh, not anymore. The once contemporary black wooden floor in the bar area and restaurant are now just scratched and old looking (not in a good way). It seems this hotel, which was once lovely, requires an upgrade, and money spent to bring it up to Malmaison standard that we have come to expect... and pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMcG0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed for one night earlier this month. Malmaison seems to be a very reliable brand. It is perfect for short business or leisure stays. The rooms are comfortable, give the illusion of an upmarket boutique without being super-luxurious. The entry level rooms are compact but not ridiculously so, while the larger rooms have ample space. Bathrooms are simple and plain, but the towels and products are of good quality - and the hot water really is hot. The location of the Edinburgh Malmaison in Leith is very peaceful, even if it is a 10-minute cab ride to the main attractions of the city. There are, I think, 3 michelin-starred restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Whether on business or for a short city-break this is where I would choose to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank returnjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

After several trips to Edinburgh, I decided to stay in the Malmaison. I have to say that the service was excellent. Ask for the Indonesian woman at reception, she upgraded me to suit, because the hotel was not fully booked. After she gave me a free whisky in the hotel bar. I definitely will return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotel_california_201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,592 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,758 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Tower Place, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland (Formerly Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $88 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing