We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh
Book In Advance
More Info
$340.32*
and up
Private Photo Shoot in Edinburgh
Ranked #9 of 399 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Botanics offers visitors peace and tranquility amongst its stunning 72 acres in Edinburgh city centre. Founded in 1670, the Garden is acknowledged to be one of the finest in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I just spent some time here with my family it really is a fantastic place for a chill out any time of year. A walk through its grounds really lifts your spirits and so much to learn about, the time just flies!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,590
    1,231
    209
    36
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The gardens where relaxing to walk around. The glasshouses where interesting and it was nice to see all the different environments represented from the tropics to the desert.
We seen what looked like audio tour number dotted around the glasshouse but didn't see anywhere where we could get the audio tour. We asked and it was back at the main reception. It might have been interesting to listen to.
All in all it was a relaxing half day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Whatever the season”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Jewel in the Crown of Edinburgh. What a fantastic asset we have all year round. Great visitor facilities and exhibitions, new shop, Inverleith House, the Queen Mother's Garden - always a joy and breath of fresh air.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went here twice in our weekend to edinburgh. The gardens are huge and just beautiful. We spent hours wandering around. Its stunning in winter, i can imagine its even more beautiful in summer. I would defintely recommend a visit if the weather is good! Biggist suprise is that its free!!! Amazing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeaD116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Fantastic gardens a great place of interest, fantastic buildings, good gift shop for tourists and locals with some fab original ideas for gifts, Had coffee and cake yummy, a great place for the solo traveller or for all the family caters for the public and reasonably priced cafe. Free entrance to the gardens, you only pay if you want to go into the Green House, Excellent place for kids to run around and explore, weather good fab place for a picnic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing