We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, sumptuous, theatrical”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Romantic, sumptuous, theatrical”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I thoroughly recommend this hotel for a romantic treat. It felt as though we were staying at the country house of a wealthy relative! The hotel is lavishly decorated, particularly wonderful at Christmas with log fires and well decorated Christmas trees in the public rooms.

Our room was fantastic, richly decorated and very comfortable, with nice touches such as petit fours every evening. Our room was in the more modern extension at the back, but decorated in a traditional style, and had the usual amenities such as air-con and a gigantic flatscreen TV. The hotel has a DVD library and we enjoyed watching a movie on the huge soft bed.

Outside are nice gardens and a golf course, peacocks and highland cows. The hotel is close to Arthur's Seat, and after a cold climb to the top we warmed up by one of their log fires. It took around 20-minutes to walk into town, or a £6-7 taxi ride. We spent less time in town than we expected, as it was so lovely to spend time at Prestonfield.

Breakfast is excellent- around eight hot options and a good buffet selection, served in an ornate dining room. They provide room service 24/7.

The staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive- we were always warmly greeted when we arrived back at the hotel and staff were always offering to help us.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16, which is in the more modern extension at the back looking over the gardens, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    120
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
184
629
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Wow, what a place. Only came for dinner with colleagues, will be returning with my wife to stay. Utter class, amazing rooms, amazing food and brilliant service. I can't wait to go back, it was like being in a movie set. Log fires, beautiful Christmas trees, champagne flowing, well done Prestonfield you made my Christmas

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Famous Scottish Show - our evening was faultless from the moment we arrived till the very end. We got the tickets for "dinner, show & wine", was very well worth it!
The staff were all so friendly and helpful, delicious food and the show exceeded all expectation.
Lovely location and setting and a quality evening!
Will definitely be back next year!
1st Class!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just experienced anther fabulous stay at Prestonfield. The House is looking just lovely with lots of twinkling lights it really looks stunning. The Owners Suite was delightful. Very atmospheric and theatrical with a beautiful Christmas tree. We really couldn't have stayed anywhere more romantic.
We ate in Rhubarb which was very busy but the staff remained attentive throughout. The food was delicious beautifully presented and our beef was melt in the mouth tender. We had breakfast in our room which was such a treat served at the window table in our drawing room was just gorgeous. The attention to detail was spot on. The food hot and tasty. Sad to leave but we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all are lovely. A suite offers more space. The owners suite is somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at Prestonfield house on the 7th of December as a couple. Some of the plus points:

- Amazing mansion house hotel, set in its own grounds in the outskirts of Edinburgh
- Good service from the hotel staff
- Opulent is the only word for the bedrooms
- Large bathrooms with deepfill bath
- Original interior - never stayed anywhere quite like it
- Good breakfast

Negative

- The service in the Rhubarb restaurant is terrible and would recommend eating at one of Edinburgh's many other excellent restaurants instead

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolaferrola74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is my second visit to Prestonfield and I didn't think it could ever get any better but it did. We were due to arrive early Thursday morning but unfortunately due to terrible weather conditions in the north our plane abandoned landing at Edinburgh to took us all the way back to London. After a 12 hour wait in Heathrow we finally made it back to Scotland. We arrived at the hotel at 1am and were met by Liam who checked us in took our bags to our room and then stoked the fire in one of the beautiful lounges and poured us a well needed drink.
Prestonfield at Christmas is truly beautiful with Christmas trees in every room and log fires burning. The staff are second to none and if you want or need anything they will go out of their way to make sure you get it. I feel utterly relaxed and extremely spoilt. I want to say a huge thank you to Liam, you really did go above and beyond to make sure we had the best stay in the hotel and Edinburgh itself, Recommending things to do, helping us choose wines and whiskies. He also has a great sense of humour and made us feel right at home. Thanks to Liam we managed to get a table at Rhubarb after being disappointed that we missed our reservation on Thursday. It was fantastic and I would recommend eating here even if you are not staying here. We also ate at the Witchery and I have to say we much preferred Rhubarb. So if you are lucky enough to stay here enjoy and go knowing that you will be made to feel very very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbadosdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Had one night at Prestonfield this month. It was utterly impressive, room was gorgeous, the room we sat in having a cocktail at night was lovely, in front of a wood burning fire. I really can't fault the hotel. Will definitely be staying again in future, quite possibly one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LJNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing