We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary breakfast - fantastic!”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #3 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Anniversary breakfast - fantastic!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We were married at prestonfield 3 years ago so decided to have an anniversary breakfast (have eaten/afternoon tea'd and so on) so breakfast it was! This trip was a little different as we now have a 7 month old son :-) All that said the food is fantastic - a great deal of selection from the buffet and the cooked offerings were delicious! We •always• return and I'm sure it won't be long until we do.

Oh and the staff are great - very accommodating, giving us a big table and seat to prop up our son in his car seat.

First class all round!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    124
    39
    21
    13
See reviews for
195
644
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We travelled with a Trafalgar bus tour "The Best of Scotland" and were pleasantly surprised that such a tasteful menu could be served to about 500 guests inside a marquee atmosphere. The show was over the top for entertainment and we were glad that venue had been added to our tour as an add on. Worth every pound for the evening. We cannot rate the hotel portion as we did not stay at Prestonfield but from its appearance it would undoubtedly be pure heaven. Would love to include this facility on a return trip to Bonnie Scotland.
Nancy and Dave, Caledon, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for one night in early October 13 and from the moment we arrived we were looked after by each member of staff we came across. The service was faultless, the hotel room outstanding and the food was to die for. It was my wife's birthday and we were greeted in the room with a bottle of champagne on ice which was a very nice touch.

From the furnishings in the hotel, to the quality of food, to the excellent level of service of all the staff, to the location of the hotel to the peacocks in the grounds this hotel is simply brilliant.

We were so pleased we booked it and will return in the future. This is the best hotel we have stayed in within the UK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinggeordie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Rebecca, my daughter and Jamie were married here on Saturday 28th September. It was a wonderful day! The staff had done everything they could to ensure that the day was a success - from the initial planning discussions until the feedback afterwards they could not have been more helpful. Paul and Gavin the wedding coordinators and Derek the duty manager on the day deserve a special thank you.
The location is superb, the staff attentive and the food and wine excellent. They even arranged for beautiful sunny weather so that we were able to enjoy champagne and canapés on the lawn and take stunning photos! The little bridesmaids even attempted a game of croquet.
Thank you to all at Prestonfield - this was certainly a day to treasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We, quite simply, fell in love with this place.
We were treated to a weekend in a suite (the Allan Ramsey) as a belated 'wedding' present and, as such, felt spoiled rotten on all accounts.
Dark, warm, Baroque, ecletic and over-furnished, it may not be aesthetically to everyones taste but the service and levels of comfort are unsurpassed. Some reviews berate the 'slow' service but we were all too happy to let things take their course, to sit back in the sumptuous settings and let it all wash over us.
There's something magical about having peacocks and highland cows in the manicured grounds and beds as high and plump as something from a fairy story.
Being dog lovers the cherry on the cake was that we were staying at the same time as the last reviewer...having a big, bouncy labrador bounding over the lawns in the morning was all that was needed to make our stay perfect.

Room Tip: The Allan Ramsey suite is close to the reception and a good choice as it's easier to crawl up s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I, and our labrador, Hector, stayed at the Prestonfield Hotel recently. In my job I travel a great deal and stay in many high quality hotels throughout the world, and can honestly say that the entire experience at Prestonfield rates amongst the best I have ever had. From the moment we drove up to the entrance until we left, the staff were exceptional in their service, knowledge and overall commitment to providing an excellent customer experience. Also having the dog with us was absolutely no trouble, and that's not easy to find these days. We will certainly be making Prestonfield our regular weekend destination!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is most beautiful hotel I have stayed in !!! rooms where so Comfortable and the bed was large perfect for a great nights sleep. And breakfast was outstanding. Staff where so friendly and professional. Will be back :-)) thank u to mark for our extra help xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happitots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing