We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Birthday Celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I wanted to have a small, but special family celebration lunch for my 60th birthday, and from the moment I called the hotel, everything was made very easy, from arranging a small reception room, to agreeing a very reasonable price to hire a private dining area. We were welcomed warmly, and shown to The Leather Room, where we were served our champagne by the log fire, and then taken to the Stuart Room for our meal. Both rooms provided a very grand, but warm backdrop, setting the scene for a very special day. There was a wedding in the hotel at the same time, but this was not at all intrusive, as our staff member very discreetly ensured that the door was closed, so that no noise infiltrated our little party and the two events remained separate.
Food and wines were excellent, with a good menu choice, and staff were quietly attentive, anticipating and meeting our requests pleasantly and efficiently.
During a very convivial meal, we all enjoyed the occasional glimpses we had of the peacocks in the grounds outside, and it is testament to the overall atmosphere of the day that no-one was in a hurry to leave!
Highly recommended for a very memorable and special celebration venue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    115
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
179
609
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend treated me to night at Prestonfield for my birthday in December and I absolutely loved it. The location is brilliant - 10 minutes away from the City Centre by car, but in a nice, quiet residential area in the shadow of Arthur's Seat.

The hotel itself is beautiful, with amazing decor and furnishings. It feels very special! Our room was one of the standard "deluxe" rooms and it was large and spacious. The decor was something else - all dark colours and plush fabrics. It might be a little overwhelming for some, but I loved it. The bed was large and very comfortable and we had a brilliant sleep. The room was equipped with a large TV, bathrobes and slippers and was set with fruit, cookies and chocolate for our arrival. The turn down service provided water beside our bed in the evening.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was beautifully presented and very good value for money we felt. The staff were knowledgable and attentive, without being over-the-top or pushy. We enjoyed after dinner drinks and petit fours in the tapestry room after our meal and that topped off a brilliant meal. Breakfast was equally as special as dinner with massive plates of Scottish fayre - too much for us but highly recommended.

All of the staff we met were helpful and friendly and seemed genuinely keen to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. The best thing, in my opinion, about Prestonfield is the atmosphere that the staff create. It feels special and luxurious, but never pretentious or pompous.

Top class - highly recommended for a romantic experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are looking for a special experience, try a champagne afternoon tea at Prestonfield House near Duddingston loch in Edinburgh next to Prestonfield Golf Course. From the moment you arrive at this 17th century House you realise you have arrived at something special. We were shown into the Leather room (Cordoba leather clad walls installed in the 1680s). We sat by the roaring log fire and sipped Champagne, Followed by an excellent cream tea. This hotel has been given the James Thomson treatment (see the Witchery restaurant in Edinburgh). The staff are attentive and we thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon. Compared to London Prices we thought this was good value and would recommend it to anyone. Try it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We always feel well looked after when we stay here. Excellent food and swish surroundings make for a lovely break from real life. The only thing that stops me giving it 5 stars is that the service can be a little idiosyncratic and slow. In particular we got irritated waiting for the breakfast to arrive. I understand everything is cooked to order, but it wasn't that busy and we had to wait an hour for a couple of bits of soggy bacon and some eggy bread. By which time all the drinks were cold and we were ready to get going with the day. We asked for speedier service on day two as we had to leave to drive home, and we got our breakfast in....45 mins. Again too slow! Please take a note of this, if you are reading it in the hotel, it left a bad impression of a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Provincialwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The service and first impressions of this hotel could not be faulted,kilt -clad guys doing everything they could for you and a very lush interior. The peacocks and highland cattle in the grounds added to the taste of luxury as did the location at the foot of Arthur's seat.The room was lovely,cosy,but very luxurious,including home -made petit fours and cookies. Even the coffee making facilities were that bit better, with cafetiere coffee instead of the ubiquitous nescafe.
A beautiful deep bath after a freezing afternoon at Murrayfield for the rugby was perfect.Very comfortable bed topped it off.
Dinner was good- table d'hote menu was nicely cooked and presented although nothing out of the ordinary. Crazy amount of different waiters attending to our every need throughout.Breakfast next morning was very good. We had a special deal through a travel website which made it well worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg,texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

An Excellent hotel that offers simply the best of the best., from exquisite dining (My respect to the chef) to a very relaxing and beautiful room. Stunning garden views and much much more. I love this hotel and scotland you are a jewel!

Room Tip: All room have the same careful attention to detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank european0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I visited Prestonfield 1/03 for one night with my other half. The Hotel was highly reccomended by a good friend who had visited a few times before.

My expectations were set high and i was really looking forward to visiting.

Sadly my experience was not what i had hoped for. We were given room 4 on arrival. At first glance the room was nice, dark and moody and had views onto the gardens.

We settled in and looked around, the room was more than tired, sorry to say this but the replica mirror frames and furniture were awful, (plastic with gold paint) the roof was made to look like it had a coffer type ceiling by wallpapering it, however this was hanging off at some parts and looked tacky. The bathroom had an old roll top bath which had been badly chipped, the shower curtain still had the previous guests soap stains on it and there were old cob webs hanging from the ceiling.

We decided to take a walk around the grounds and then have a drink in the sitting rooms that we had yet to see. The grounds are lovely with the highland cows and peacocks roaming, however there is more of the faux plaster/plastic to be seen here in the form of a large columns that were placed either side of the steps (these were plastic) and they looked it!

When we arrived back we went upstairs to the sitting rooms that we had not seen on our arrival tour, Sadly we were ushered back down quickly as there was a wedding on and they were using the rooms upstairs,,,and two rooms downstairs...that left us with one room to have a swift drink in. This room quickly became busy as any other guest that fancied an early refreshment had no option but to drink in here also.

Dinner was nice, food ok.

When retiring to bed sorry to say again that i was disappointed as the bed only had feather pillows, no choice, no duvet only sheets (the itchy ones) and the linen was ripped.
We had a look at the in room paperwork the next morning which was difficult to read as the ink must have ran out in the printer and the fact that another guest has amended the Spanish version to reflect what it should have read.

I am extremely sad that i had this experience as i know that my friend had such a contrasting stay to mine, hence the reason i visited - just don't stay in room 4.

I mentioned the problems that we had to the reception staff and she apologised and said that she will check up on this.

The staff and service are EXCEPTIONAL.

This is a very honest review and i am sad to be disappointed in my stay at Prestonfield.

Room Tip: ***Don't stay in Room 4***
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reidlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing