We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a lovely evening from the warm friendly greeting leading to the wow factor of the glamorous decor we were not disappointed. The food was utterly delicious served by Gareth who was wonderfully professional and attentive to our every need, faultless performance!
Our only tiny gripe was being sat next to jeans and trainer what a shame and the coffee was rather wishywashy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    115
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
179
608
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have just returned from this lovely hotel. On arrival it was late afternoon and everywhere looked really welcoming (I'd hate to be the person who gets the daily job of lighting all the tea lights!). To be welcomed by handsome men in kilts certainly made it all feel very Scottish. The room was very nice, very tasteful, even Colefax & Fowler wallpaper on the ceiling (now that's extravagent!) through to lovely toiletries in the bathroom (use your finger to get the thick conditioner out, there's no other way!). The Hendricks G&T with cucumber (three to be precise!) felt very decadent. We ate at the Wardorf Astoria, but next time will try Rhubarb. The breakfast was huge and really nicely prepared. The young man on Saturday morning who greeted us, what a lovely chap, so friendly and professional. We walked in the grounds and saw the peacocks and Highland cattle. Its all very quiet, very relaxing and we didn't hear anyone banging doors or walking in corridors at night which suited us! . We would definitely stay again; fortunately my husband's company paid for this trip so a real treat. If I am nit picking I'd probably say the three things which are not 5 star are:- the toilet roll!! Sorry it's not Andrex, a bit too scratchy for my tender bottom!!! The hairdrier was rubbish, luckily I have short hair, otherwise it'd be nightmare if in a rush and the last thing, we loved the champagne, but the champagne glasses had thick rims which didn't quite go together, good quality champagne warrants good quality glasses really. So, all in all, a lovely break, lovely setting, a very very friendly hotel and highly recommended for a stay in this beautiful city. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legaljulie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited the Preston field hotel on the 9th of September with another couple who had stayed here before! We booked a suite which we found to be totally cluttered, once we took all the pillows off the bed you could not move around the room! And spent most of the time looking for my things! We left behind a Louis Vuitton coat hanger which was part of our luggage set! When we got home the next day we realised we had left it and phoned the hotel straight away, the staff were unhelpful,disinterested in our problem! We felt as though the staff were very attentive whilst we were spending lots of money!! So overall very dissatisfied with the after care customer service, Don't know What happened to the coat hanger??? I feel that there are better value for money hotels in the centre of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Think the suites are over priced!! So check out standard rooms and remember don't leave anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela_kelly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
495 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have eaten at Prestonfield many times over the years but never stayed here. Having to find somewhere for a last minute trip to Edinburgh, we booked a standard room at short notice for one night. Room was a good size with a large bed - very comfortable and good bedding. Very peaceful place and good nights sleep. Breakfast was plentiful although service by one member of the service staff was a bit amusing. He really was embracing the image of a dour scot! But the staff mainly are very friendly and helpful and will do anything to help you.

The hotel architecture is lovely but the decor is not really to my taste. Too theatrical, crushed red velvet and lovey for me. But based on comfort and location and nice staff - we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

After trying the afternoon tea experience in London, I wanted to repeat it in Edinburgh. So we booked our afternoon tea at Prestonfield... and we were left speechless! Prestonfield house is absolutely beautiful, both outside, with a large, polished garden (inhabited by a peacock), and inside, with its luxurious interiors. Every room we crossed was charming and made us feel like we were in a movie - just have a look at the ladies' room to know what I mean! The staff was super-attentive and made our experience memorable. Last but not least, of course, the tea itself - both the food and the tea were delicious and offered in large quantity - so much that we didn't need to have dinner afterwards! In conclusion, the afternoon tea experience in Edinburgh was not inferior at all to that in London... and it was even cheaper.
A wonderful experience: we felt like we were in a fairy tale - thanks Prestonfield!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InItinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the most amazing wedding at Prestonfield on 29 September. The venue is so dramatic and luxurious, the staff welcoming and attentive but also discreet - giving us the freedom to have the relaxed and fun party we wanted. The food and wine were delicious too. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked the witchery for the 25th of sept and then on to The Prestonfield for 2 nights, I dont think that we thought the Prestonfield could be as good as the Witchery, but how wrong could we be everything from the suite we had to the staff and the food was fantastic. We had an absolutely brilliant time, everything was just perfect. This has been the best anniversary ever. Both the Witchery and The Prestonfield made our stay the most wonderful experience with excellant staff the best food and the best accommodation. Thanks to all the staff and management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing