We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 15%
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed recently some ten+ years after previous stay under different ownership. What a disappointment...corridors were freezing cold (outside temps were -1C and worse) because of poor fitting sash windows through which a freezing gale blew; room and en-suite was somewhat tatty and in need of refurbishment as were most of the common areas; and room literature made no reference to the WiFi/ internet connection advising to go to central computer area for connection when there was a (subsequently- found) notice of hotel-wide WiFi unobtrusively displayed in the lobby.Room heating lacked and visible control and was a little noisy.

On the plus side the rooms and facilities were clean and beds extremely comfortable; room rates were quite reasonable for a "top hotel" but then we had only a side view of adjacent buildings; the hotel is well positioned with underground parking (extra) making it fine for a one or two night stay; check-in/out was efficient and friendly; bar was busy and lively.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Centrally located on the Royal Mile, less than 10 minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverley railway station and with car parking adjacent and accessible from the hotel, one couldn't ask to be nearer the action than at this hotel. All the staff I encountered were friendly, professional and efficient. The reception, lounge and bar areas are contemporary, bright and fresh. The bedroom and bathroom were both a good size and the in-room facilities good, however the room was super warm and even turning down the air con didn't seem to help. We weren't able to open the window to cool the room down, and I personally prefer to sleep with a window open. The lighting scheme in the room wasn't great either with quite a few dark spots, and I found it quite difficult to read in the room. I think a ceiling light or two would help. I didn't see any stairs to access the floors the rooms were on, and used the lifts, which were often slow to turn up, particularly at peak times. One of the 3 was out of order for the duration of our 4 day stay which didn't help matters. But overall, there was more right with this hotel than wrong, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent welcome by the check-in team. I was very early and my room wasn't ready (I expected that) but they let me check in and leave my luggage while I went about my business. Very helpful indeed. When I returned I found I had got an upgrade to a suite, which was beyond all expectations! Very, very sumptuous indeed! They did this without making any fuss - terrific! The room overlooked the High Street and I expected a lot of noise from late-night revellers around the pubs opposite but the double glazing is excellent and although I could see that they were making a noise, I couldn't here a thing! Those view were much more entertaining that one of the large-screen TVs that were available. The food in the "Itchycoo" bar was excellent and not overpriced (although their notion of tapas is a bit strange - you don't need more than two!!) The breakfast buffet was simply first class! I was staying here on business, but would have been very happy to pay myself to stay here, and probably will.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

this was a treat for my husband's birthday travelling with daughter son in law and two grandsons hotel perfect location to get to anywhere easily. rooms were good, ours had a fab view looking at arthurs seat and the firth of forth beyond . could not close window so room drafty but maintenance man arrived within minutes and solved the problem, rest of family had a huge family room opposite which suited them very well. breakfast was lovely recommend the porridge may have to wait for table at busy times but not for long and the choice of food was very good didnt eat here other than breakfast but the Mitre opposite has great food As daughter had mentioned special birthday had a bottle of bubbly and juices for grandsons delieved to room with birthday card a very nice touch All members of staff vety friendly and efficient

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teepee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent 3 night stay in the Radisson. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely room with tea and coffee facilities. Delicious and wide range of breakfast, anything from the usual bacon and eggs to smoked salmon and haggis if you like !
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nufcfansHandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

high just been to edinburgh with my wife to celebrate our anniversary.
5th time we,ve stayed in edinburgh over the past few years.
the radisson blu is a nice hotel quite stylish and modern and also good price wise.it is in the old side of the city royal mile so very close to shops and bars etc..paid for room only so cant comment on breakfast but our room 537 was smart , a fair size and clean. i have only 2 negatives for the hotel firstly a small one when checking under the bed for my sock i found a sock obviously from previous visitors so not as clean as first thought
secondly the noise outside the room from local bars was very loud and lasted well past 3oclock,
then between 6&7 oclock the bottle bins were emptied so not the best sleep.
all in all this is a smart hotel, great service a great location (APART FROM NOISE) and for this reason only i wouldn,t go back which is a huge shame..

Room Tip: if staying try to make sure not facing side street running off main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,831 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh

Address: 80 High St. | The Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1TH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Rezidor, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Edinburgh
Edinburgh Radisson
Radisson Hotel Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing