We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mediocre hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #47 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A mediocre hotel!”
Reviewed August 24, 2006

The city of Edinburgh was absolutely full when I got there on August 22 so I ended up staying at this hotel. It is located in the ocean terminal area of Leith. The description tells you that it is 1.5 miles from the city center which is a joke .. my guess would be about 3.5 – 4.5 miles but the bus service on #22 is very convenient since it runs every 10 minutes. Also the Ocean Terminal with its shops and restaurants make sure that you do not feel as if you isolated. The “breakfast” that they mention is a joke if you are used to an English breakfast. Their breakfast is a continental breakfast.

The staff are pleasant but obviously not experienced hotel staff and do not provide any kind of a proactive service.

Other than that it is a “Holiday Inn” except my rate was about $ 270 per night!

Would I stay there again? Only if Edinburgh is full and it is my only option

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Location, cost
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rparkhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    671
    207
    38
    9
See reviews for
280
657
32
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

I found the hotel after searching on TripAdvisor. We are a family of four with kids aged 14 and 10 so we booked the family room at the HI Express. The room was very small and had one double bed and one fold-out sofabed with the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever had the misfortune to sleep on. There was no air conditioning and the windows folded out a maximum of 4 inches or so. The front desk denied having any fans available either so we had 2 warm nights (unusually warm weather for Edinburgh). Breakfast was good. The location was certainly not in the center of things but buses made the trip downtown easy. The staff was friendly enough although not overly helpful.

Overall, I'd probably look for a different hotel should I return to Edinburgh.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — sofabed
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ctmb-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Very happy with this hotel. We booked it as the city centre hotel prices were rip offs. The reception check in took 2 mins, lovely clean, bright and modern rooms ( makes a change from smelly tartan carpets and dark wood furniture). Bathrooms exceptionally clean and bright. Breakfast was fine, self service continental with plenty of choice. Across the road from the Ocean Terminal shopping centre, and 10 mins from city centre ( £1 on bus each way or buy a day ticket for £2.40). Overall this hotel was very good, and well priced. I would return to this hotel again.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

I've stayed for one week in September 2005 and really enjoyed all the time.
The hotel is located a bit out of centre, away of noise and crowd (for quiet evening).
The connection is bus No 22 (just near the hotel) which leeds straight to Princess Street (10 min. drive). Also, No 35 to Hollyrood and Royal Mile.
Near the hotel is place for shopping, Ocean terminal to find almost everything.
Rooms are very nice, with fresh and modern decour. I had a good look on Scottish Executive building and a few bistros and pubs down the street. There you can find something for dinner to 11 pm.
Staff was wery frendly and helpfull even on 04 am when was our check out time because of the flight (Night porter offered us with a tea and croisant) .
All in all, I was very very satisfeid and would deffinitelly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Stayed 3 nights at HIE at the end of march 2006. Rooms clean and comfortable, a little small but fine for our needs. There was no bath in the room, but not a problem as i prefer showers anyway. Breakfast good, a help yourself continental style, one morning there were no croisants left and a lack of yoghurt flavours to choose from. Staff friendly and generally helpful, it took a reminder to get our extra pillows though. Bus stop outside hotel takes you into city centre and good value at 2.30 for day ticket which you can use as much as you like! Went on your bus around edinburgh, but would say this wasn't as good as other city bus tours i've been on before. Overall good stay in edinburgh, but shame about the rain!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,192 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing