We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally suited to our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideally suited to our needs”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Staff friendly and very helpful. When my wife forgot her bag at Wagamama, a quick email to them resulted in a call to our room 45 minutes later as they had the bag for us downstairs.

We took the bus directly from the airport to the front of the hotel in Leith.
By now the new tram line should be ready to get one from the airport to Princes St.

Exactly what we were looking for when traveling , good, but slightly off center location, clean and very attentively run. Interesting local food culture, the Britannia and the Scottish Government building make it a different Leith from my memories of 40 odd years ago.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grlaham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Grlaham1,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and felt that the hotel was clean and very attentively run.
I’m so glad that you enjoyed our location and yes Leith has changed for the better over that last 40 years.
We do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel the next time that you are in Edinburgh.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    652
    203
    38
    9
See reviews for
271
638
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I spent one night at the hotel as we were going to Tom Kitchen's restaurant just around the corner. Wasn't sure what to expect being an 'Express' hotel, but was not disappointed. Room comfortable and clean, staff very helpful, great location. Would certainly recommend to anyone thinking of staying here for a one or a couple of nights. Long term stay might be difficult as hardly any hanging space but I don't think that is what the hotel is about. I needed to borrow an iron and ironing board and the staff were very quick to provide me with one which worked perfectly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Michelle D,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m so glad that you found your room to be comfortable and clean, found our staff to be very helpful and that you enjoyed our location which is close to all of the local restaurants and amenities.
I’m delighted that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

we stayed at the holiday inn in Ocean Drive for one night due to work. I actually woud have been happy to stay here for a few more days. Our room was lovely and clean and welcoming. It had everything we needed. The TV was an impressive size and there was a nice sofa to relax on and a very accomadating unit in which to store all your clothes etc. A very nice welcoming touch was the choice of soft or hard pillows and what really scored good in my book was the air conditioning unit, i like to be cool in bed although it was much to husbands disdain as he likes it warm (even in summer). the shower area was lovely and there was also a big desk which would come in handy for buisnessman etc. I had a lovely nights sleep on a very comfortable bed i really hated having to get up at five am for work.I really wanted to try the breakfast but we had to leave at 5.30 am so we missed it. The room was really clean and had everything i wanted. Theres nice bar area etc and i would just like to say how welcoming the staff were (my husband is heavily tattooed and we dont always get a warm reception due to this). Im hoping to stay again here soon with work commitments and i would stay here everytime. Thankyou holiday inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countessraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear countessraven,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I’m so glad that you found your room to be lovely, clean and welcoming, that you liked that choice of soft or hard pillows and that you enjoyed the air conditioning.
I am sure that had you let us know that you required an early breakfast our team would have been more than happy to provide this for you.
I’m delighted that you found our staff to be welcoming and we all look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you are in Edinburgh.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for the second time in 2 months last weekend, and again, it was ideal for our needs.

Each time, we've arrived around midday to take advantage of the excellent local restaurants for lunch, and haven't had a problem with parking, though we could see how stowed the car park was as we left the next morning. It's a pity, as there's masses of empty space nearby!

The room was immaculate, very comfy, and the staff were friendly and efficient throughout. Inclusive breakfast was adequate: nothing fancy - but plentiful!

With the convenient bus stop outside, great eateries nd tourist spots close by, convenient shops etc, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenoAktagamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear ZenoAktagamat,
Welcome back and thank yu so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found your room to be immaculate and very comfy and that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient throughout your stay.
I’m so glad that you enjoyed our location with it’s easy access to the excellent local restaurants and the local tourist attractions and amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent stay. Staff very helpful, room quiet, breakfast very good, location excellent for Royal Yacht. Buses from stop just outside. You can use them to get to the centre of the city. You need to buy a day pass on the bus and have the correct change ready. At this time it is £3.50 for adults. You can hop on and off buses all day with that one pass. Many shops and restaurants in the Ocean Terminal a few minutes walk away. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on a low down floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Peter G,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you had an excellent stay and that you found our staff to be helpful, your room quiet, enjoyed our free Express Start hot buffet breakfast and felt that our location was excellent for accessing both the local attractions and also the city centre through the use of the very frequent public bus service which runs form just outside the hotel.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culcheth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel is fine, warm, comfortable and clean. Staff friendly and very helpful. Great location for Leith centre which is full of restaurants and pubs to visit. Only problem is parking which can be a pain as there's not enough space.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Giles L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found the hotel to be warm, comfortable and clean and that you felt that our staff were friendly and very helpful.
I’m so glad that you enjoyed our location though am sorry that you had issues with finding a parking space within our free car park. There are an extra 6 spaces available for residents between the hotel and the Britannia Spice restaurant and I’m sorry that this option was not made clear to you during your stay.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed at this location as it was right on the waterfront-literally across the street. The only downside is there is not sufficient parking for the number of rooms. During our stay there was an internet service company that had numerous people staying in the facility, so their work vehicles took many of the slots. The staff that we interacted with were all extremely friendly and helpful. VERY pleasant! The rooms are compact but very comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the pillows were very hard. Both my husband and I felt like we were sleeping on bricks. Next morning I asked my sister and mom and both indicated the same! So, I think this must be the type of pillows they like in this particular area???!! We had a beautiful drive (next morning) through this older part of the city and were able to view many historic buildings and architecture. I would return to this property when in the area again, but I think I would bring my own pillow! Breakfast is included in the rate-typical English/Scot breakfast fare. Not a fan of the sausage, so ate rather light--did enjoy the fruit, bread, lunchmeats and cheeses. Ordered a pizza the evening we checked in and was quite tasty. Three of us shared one and there was plenty left over!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamTamOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear BamTamOK.
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and very pleasant and that you found our rooms to be compact but very comfortable.
I’m sorry that you felt that our pillows were hard. We have 2 firm and 2 soft pillows in each room so that guest are able to make use of the pillows that they find most comfortable. I’m sure that had you brought your concerns to our team during your stay they would have tried their utmost to find an alternative solution for you.
I’m so glad that even though you are not a fan of sausages you were able to sample the other varied choices that we offer in our free Express Start hot buffet breakfast.
I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel the next time that you visit Edinburgh.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing